Recently on a Facebook group for L5R LCG, a ruling question came up regarding the abilities of Doji Hotaru and Akodo Toturi.
Players think that their abilities DO NOT work on the defense due to a strict reading of the rules:
Learn to Play Document, Ring Effects, Page 13
"The attacking player..."
We have some players who read the ring effect with the above quotations and don't think these two cards can trigger because while on the defense, they are NOT attacking players.
Doji Hotaru's ability reads, "Reaction: After you claim a ring during a political conflict in which this character was participating - resolve that ring's effect."
We have cited the #FFGL5R Live Stream, Lion Preview article, and Crane Preview article which supports that the ability works as intended on the defense. We have also pointed to the rules, pg. 12 under Conflict Resolution that on the defense, the winner takes rings and Hotaru's ability allows her to trigger the ring effect - which I interpret by the Jade Rule: "I f the text on a card directly contradicts the text of the rules, the text on the card takes precedence."
Players think the FFG team that writes the articles did not consult the design team that the cards are working correctly. Apparently, this has happened with Netrunner. The cards "Defend the Wall" have been cited, with its rules text reading: "Reaction: After you win a conflict at this province - resolve the ring effect of that conflict as if you were the attacking player." Some players think Doji Hotaru and Akodo Toturi need errata to say, "....of that conflict as if you were the attacking player" for clarity. I personally think both cards tell you to do the same thing, one just completely spells it out. Otherwise, the rings don't need to have, "The attacking player..." written at all.
Whatever the case, what is the right answer? I'm pretty sure FFG didn't botch how cards work in their first two preview articles.