Panic Tokens

By Curlycross, in Runewars Rules Questions

In what situations do you gain a panic token, and in what situations do you do a morale test? The modifier on dials (Waiqar reanimates as an example) is that a morale test or a token? Surge abilities that give panic, morale test or token? I know that missing a charge gives a token, and I know that having impact 1 gives token. I'm just curious if someone knows when you do which one. Yes, this is part lazy on my part not wanting to research it, but I'm mainly asking for people who already know this, and aren't looking it up themselves.

You take a token when you're told to take a token, and you take a test when one is triggered by an attack or other ability.

The panic symbol on a die, on a modifier dial, or added by a card triggers a morale test. These symbols do not stick around, they must be spent immediately.

You can spend panic tokens to increase the severity of that test.

You can also spend panic tokens to trigger a morale test, as well as raise the severity of one.

It's really easy, you don't take a token unless the game tells you to.

11 minutes ago, Tvayumat said:

You can also spend panic tokens to trigger a morale test, as well as raise the severity of one.

Can you support the token to trigger a test? I don't recall reading anything that lets it happen when it wouldn't normally. You can during an attack with tokens and no icons, but that is effectively just increasing severity 1 (from 0 to 1) and so on.

23 minutes ago, Darthain said:

Can you support the token to trigger a test? I don't recall reading anything that lets it happen when it wouldn't normally. You can during an attack with tokens and no icons, but that is effectively just increasing severity 1 (from 0 to 1) and so on.

RR 12.1, pg 8

When the unit is the target of an attack that token can be spent to cause the unit to suffer a morale test with a severity equal to the number of panic tokens and morale icons spent.

Never claimed you could do it outside of an attack. That's the standard trigger window barring special card effects

Edited by Tvayumat
1 hour ago, Tvayumat said:

RR 12.1, pg 8

When the unit is the target of an attack that token can be spent to cause the unit to suffer a morale test with a severity equal to the number of panic tokens and morale icons spent.

Never claimed you could do it outside of an attack. That's the standard trigger window barring special card effects

So we're on the same page, cool.

Just now, Darthain said:

So we're on the same page, cool.

Page 8, specifically ;)

1 hour ago, Tvayumat said:

Page 8, specifically ;)

Lawyered.

I am having a hard time finding it now, but I read somewhere that if an action specifies the severity of the morale test, that it cannot be increased. Currently I'm aware that if you range attack into an enemy unit that is engaged with an ally you take specifically a morale test with a severity of one, but I can't see where you can/can't increase the severity of the test. Help?

1 hour ago, Glucose98 said:

Lawyered.

That was Legen- wait for it-Dary!

20 minutes ago, backupsidekick said:

I am having a hard time finding it now, but I read somewhere that if an action specifies the severity of the morale test, that it cannot be increased. Currently I'm aware that if you range attack into an enemy unit that is engaged with an ally you take specifically a morale test with a severity of one, but I can't see where you can/can't increase the severity of the test. Help?

I, too, thought this. I think the rule just says that some effects might specify a test severity. Panic tokens very clearly say they can increase any test.

Just now, rowdyoctopus said:

I, too, thought this. I think the rule just says that some effects might specify a test severity. Panic tokens very clearly say they can increase any test.

What I read is that the "attacker" can increase the morale test severity by spending the tokens, but if you are inflicting the attack, and your units are involved, can the defender spend the tokens? Is "attacker" meant to indicate literally who is the attacker, or is it meant to indicate the difference between the individual suffering the morale test and the player commanding the morale test?

1 minute ago, backupsidekick said:

What I read is that the "attacker" can increase the morale test severity by spending the tokens, but if you are inflicting the attack, and your units are involved, can the defender spend the tokens? Is "attacker" meant to indicate literally who is the attacker, or is it meant to indicate the difference between the individual suffering the morale test and the player commanding the morale test?

That is a good distinction and an interesting question.

4 hours ago, backupsidekick said:

What I read is that the "attacker" can increase the morale test severity by spending the tokens, but if you are inflicting the attack, and your units are involved, can the defender spend the tokens? Is "attacker" meant to indicate literally who is the attacker, or is it meant to indicate the difference between the individual suffering the morale test and the player commanding the morale test?

I don't see anything about an "attacker" increasing the severity of a morale test. What I see is this section under Banes:

12.1 "An opponent can spend one or more banes from a unit to resolve a negative effect against that unit for each bane spent. Each bane causes a unique effect, as follows:

...

Panic: When a unit that has a panic token suffers a morale test, that token can be spent to increase the severity by one. Alternatively, when that unit is the defender of an attack, that token can be spent to cause the unit to suffer a morale test with a severity equal to the number of panic tokens and morale ( ? ) icons spent."

I can't think of a situation where the attacker could have a morale test triggered on it.

1 minute ago, Budgernaut said:

I don't see anything about an "attacker" increasing the severity of a morale test. What I see is this section under Banes:

12.1 "An opponent can spend one or more banes from a unit to resolve a negative effect against that unit for each bane spent. Each bane causes a unique effect, as follows:

...

Panic: When a unit that has a panic token suffers a morale test, that token can be spent to increase the severity by one. Alternatively, when that unit is the defender of an attack, that token can be spent to cause the unit to suffer a morale test with a severity equal to the number of panic tokens and morale ( ? ) icons spent."

I can't think of a situation where the attacker could have a morale test triggered on it.

It came up today that a unit attacking itself (by way of Betrayal) could damage itself if it had Shield of Margath, since it is both defender and attacker. Could existing panic tokens be spent to trigger a second morale test in this case, since the rules say the "opponent" can spend tokens, rather than the "attacker"?

9 hours ago, Tvayumat said:

It came up today that a unit attacking itself (by way of Betrayal) could damage itself if it had Shield of Margath, since it is both defender and attacker. Could existing panic tokens be spent to trigger a second morale test in this case, since the rules say the "opponent" can spend tokens, rather than the "attacker"?

Betrayal is only hits are spent. I suppose the opponent could theoretically spend a token, but I tend to save those for big ones.

Edited by Darthain