Extended Haft + Electrostaff

By poteixeira, in Imperial Assault Campaign

Hi there,

My group is facing a doubt about the combination of Extended Haft + Eletrostaff, we hope you guys can help us. The thing is, with this combination I can choose between:

1) Reach (from Eletrostaff) + Pierce 1 (Extended Haft), or cleave 2 (from Eletrostaff) + reach (Extended Haft);

2) Just Pierce 1 from the Extended Haft (thinking that the electrostaff already has reach), and choose between Reach or cleave from the ES;

3) Just Reach from the Extended Haft (thinking that the electrostaff doesnt has reach, but only the attack with it), and choose between Reach or cleave.

With one is correct? Every opinion matters!

Thank You Very much!

Pablo!

Edited by poteixeira

I would personally go with the first option. The attack will always have reach and you get to choose between cleave or pierce.

You choose whether the Electrostaff h4as Reach or Cleave, Extended Haft doesn't give you the option. I would say neosmagus is correct, number 1. Essentially you choose which ability the Electrostaff gains and that determines what ability Extended Haft adds.

Edit: see the below post.

Edited by Uninvited Guest

I thought I had seen this discussed elsewhere and I believe the ruling was #3.

Electrostaff : When you declare an attack with this weapon, that attack may gain either Reach or Cleave 2.

Extended Haft : If this weapon has Reach gain Pierce 1. Otherwise, gain Reach.

Based on the wording, the Electrostaff weapon does not have Reach. Instead, when you declare an attack, that attack may gain Reach - the weapon itself does not gain (or intrinsically) have Reach and therefore the Pierce 1 of the Extended Haft cannot be used regardless of the attack choice for the Electrostaff.

Side note, Electrostaff with Extended Haft is one of my favorite weapon combinations - makes positioning extremely difficult for the Imperial player to avoid taking lots of Cleave damage.

Edited by machfalcon
fixed typo

I would agree with machfalcon, that the staff itself never gains the Reach keyword. As such, the Extended Haft doesn't have the opportunity to gain pierce 1.

Electrostaff_595_ffflogog_whatermark_cc.jpg Extended%20Haft_595_ffflogog_whatermark_cc.jpg

8 hours ago, machfalcon said:

when you declare an attack, that attack my gain Reach - the weapon itself does not gain (or intrinsically) have Reach

Good point. I had been interpreting that incorrectly. Luckily it never came up in my groups games.

Correct, the weapon doesn't have Reach even when the attack gains it.