XX-9 with only one damage card VS Contain.

By Kiwi Rat, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

When you use the XX-9 crit effect, but the defending ship is only dealt one damage card, does the XX-9 crit effect still overrule the Contain defence token, because its a special crit effect?

Or does it only count as a special crit effect when you deal two or more damage cards to a defending ship?

I would think that activating xx-9 would stop contain regardless of how many actual damage cards are dealt.

Yes XX9s ignore contains unless the defender has the new Damage Control Officer from wave six.

Edited by Mad Cat

If you have XX-9 and you got a critical icon, you get to chose which critical effect you'll use, regardless of how much damage you are dealing. In this case it could be the standard or the XX-9.
So if you choose XX-9, the contain doesn't work (unless the defender has Damage Control Officer as stated by Mad Cat).

Thanks for quick respond, I suspected that it was as you say, as I myself speculated on, so XX-9 garanties a crit VS Contain accept Damage Control Officer. Nice to know for sure :)

On a side note ibused xx9 and dodanna to burn through mu whole opponent dmg deck at a tournement. Fun, but can piss off new players.