Can Tale of Tinúviel stack?

By jnicol, in Rules questions & answers

I have a question about Tale of Tinúviel:

"Action: Exhaust a Noldor character to ready a Dúnedain character, or vice-versa. Until the end of the phase, add the exhausted character's printed Willpower to the other character's Willpower Attack and Defence."

If I am have multiple copies of ToT in hand, and am able to use it exhaust the same character twice, can I add their printed willpower to another character's stats twice?

Example:

- I have a Noldor and a Dúnedain character, each with 2 WP/Att/Def. I have 3 copies of ToT in hand. The Dúnedain character is exhausted.
- I play ToT to exhaust Noldor and ready Dúnedain. Dúnedain now has 4 WP/Att/Def.
- I play ToT to exhaust Dúnedain and ready Noldor. Noldor now has 4 WP/Att/Def.
- I play ToT to exhaust Noldor and ready Dúnedain.

After the last step does Dúnedain have 4 or 6 WP/Att/Def?

In other words, can Noldor's printed willpower be added to Dúnedain's stats a second time, or can the boost only be applied once?

Edited by jnicol

The boost can be applied twice. He will have 6 of each.

And small tip: if you have both ready at the start of combat phase you can block a big attack, reveal the shadow cards and then ready it before the attack resolve so you will use his big stats twice.

Thanks! I am having a crack at figuring out Seastan's "Win Condition: Balin's Revenge" brain teaser and Tale of Tinúviel is one of the cards in the puzzle, so I want to make sure I use it correctly.

That's a really worthwhile point with the timing Rouxxor, too.

There are several "ready + boost" effects in the game, such as this card or Narya or Hama(ally). As you note, triggering such an effect between declaring the a defender and resolving the attack means you can have the bonus apply to each of two defenses, instead of just the second. I have seen a lot of people completely miss this opportunity until it was pointed out.

The double boosted defence thing is very clever indeed. Unfortunately I am a full 3 cycles away from owning the card myself, dammit!

Thanks @RichardPlunkett :). It is not used but pretty obvious by the rules. What about using narya/tale between the moment of you declare someone attacker and the moment you resolve this attack? I never find some clear ruling about this and I never again get in this situation but it wasn't clear for me if you can play an action during this.

Actually... your idea about the timing of Tale of Tinúviel gives me an idea of how I can make my solution to Seastan's puzzle more efficient! Thanks x 2

You're welcome :).

On 8/9/2017 at 8:26 PM, Rouxxor said:

What about using narya/tale between the moment of you declare someone attacker and the moment you resolve this attack? I never find some clear ruling about this and I never again get in this situation but it wasn't clear for me if you can play an action during this.

Why are you unsure about this? The rulebook says there is an action window at the end of each step of combat.

Quote

To resolve an attack against an enemy, a player follows these 3 steps, in order. Players may play event cards and take actions at the end of each step.

1. Declare target of attack, and declare attackers. A player does this by choosing 1 enemy with whom he is currently engaged, and exhausting any number of characters as attackers.

2. Determine attack strength.
...
3. Determine combat damage.

...

Because I may have misread this. Thanks :).