A couple of rules questions

By skyb4ll3r, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

1. If I play Negation on my opponent's Urgency - is the action spent? That would have made a huge difference in my last skirmish game: either Core-Luke moves 7 and then shoots, or he has to choose between shooting from where he is or moving without shooting...


2. Can On a Mission be used to push one figure several times? Or does Chopper have to finish his move completely and then every figure whose space he entered is pushed?

3. If a HK fires on a C3po who's adjacent to a friendly figure, in which order are the dice rerolled?
Say, C3po initially rolls a dodge and the HK lets him reroll, can 3po use his Cower ability to reroll again?
If so, and then he rolls an evade for the 1 surge of the HK, can the HK still use targeting computer to reroll the surge?
Does having Initiative change any of these scenarios?

4. Is a figure adjacent to itself? For instance, can MHD use Devotion on himself to fetch his Miracle Worker card?
Since MHD's ability says "you or an adjacent friendly figure recovers 3" I would argue against that, but I'd like to have it confirmed.
Similarly, does a figure count as being within X squares to itself? So, can MHD use Miracle Worker on himself?

Thank you :)

FAQ said:

Q: If my opponent plays "Take Initiative" and I cancel it
with "Negation," does my opponent still need to exhaust a
deployment card?

A: No. "Negation" cancels all effects of the affected card, including
any costs included on that card. This also applies to any canceled
cards that require the figure using the card to spend an action; if
that card were to be canceled, the figure attempting to use that
card would not forfeit the action.

2. Each time C1-10P enters a space containing a small figure, you choose whether to push that figure or not. Immediately when the space with a small figure is entered .

3. Rerolls from attacker abilities first, then rerolls from defender's abilities. For the full story: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1631857/ability-resolution-order-during-attacks

4. No.

FAQ said:
RRG, Adjacent said:

ยท A figure is not considered to be adjacent to itself.


However, a figure is within X spaces of itself, and a figure is friendly to itself. It looks like the Miracle Worker command card can be used on MHD-19 himself.

Edited by a1bert
6 hours ago, skyb4ll3r said:

Say, C3po initially rolls a dodge and the HK lets him reroll, can 3po use his Cower ability to reroll again?

Once a die has been rerolled it cannot be rolled again for that attack. So the HK would for the reroll and C-3PO's cower would have no effect. That said he can technically trigger Cower; this would be relevant if Cower had an effect in addition the the reroll. It doesn't of course, but there are cases where this could occur (Ex: Campaign - Diala's Foresight + Defensive Stance).

Page 5 of the RRG under Steps of an Attack:

3. Rerolls: If players have any effects that reroll dice, they areresolved now.

- Each die may be rerolled only once per attack regardless of who is rerolling the die
Edited by Uninvited Guest
Added RRG quote

Great, Thanks for the fast answers! And also for the link, that really seems to be the full story :D