[Minor Spoiler] Pushed Into the Beyond question

By Buhallin, in Arkham Horror: The Card Game

Had a situation come up today that I'm pretty sure I've got right, but wanted some support for the idea.

Pushed Into the Beyond reads: Choose and shuffle a non-story asset you control into your deck...

If I have an Asset weakness like Daisy's Necronomicon, is it a valid target here? It seems to be... It's not a story asset. You control it. You're not discarding it, so that restriction doesn't apply.

Can't see any reason this wouldn't work, but it felt janky enough to throw it out there.

I have a feeling it's not what the designers intended, and they might change it like they changed how Permanent works.

You cannot choose to discard weaknesses. Because it is a weakness, it's not a valid target. You're right that it's not a discard, but I feel the same reasoning applies.

Edited by mwmcintyre

Ah, but Pushed into the Beyond doesn't discard anything from play or hand: it shuffles an asset into an investigator's deck, then discards cards from said deck. And the rule you're quoting only applies to cards in hand.

1 hour ago, mwmcintyre said:

You cannot choose to discard weaknesses. Because it is a weakness, it's not a valid target. You're right that it's not a discard, but I feel the same reasoning applies.

You can't choose to discard weaknesses specifically from hand.

Edited by BD Flory
7 hours ago, Khudzlin said:

I have a feeling it's not what the designers intended, and they might change it like they changed how Permanent works.

Maybe, but until they do the Permanent change is actually a pretty strong indicator that this is legal. Permanents could not be discarded, and they changed them to be unable to leave play.

4 hours ago, BD Flory said:

You can't choose to discard weaknesses specifically from hand.

I'd actually never noticed that distinction. So you'd be able to dump Daisy's Necronomicon to something like Crypt Chill too?

Actually, let's get back to basics, reading the damned card.

Quote

Revelation - Put The Necronomicon into play in your threat area, with 3 horror on it. It cannot leave play while it has 1 or more horror on it.

This means you cannot choose the Necronomicon for either Pushed into the Beyond or Crypt or any other effect that would make it leave play while it has horror on it.

LOL. Whoops. And there you go :) Amusingly, points to being right on the rules!

Always a hazard with cards you "know" ending up in new interactions.

Is it worth making a distinction here around 'control' and threat area? The necronomicon is a) a weakness (which means while it may have a player card back, it's functionally considered an encounter card) and b) not in your in-play area but your threat area - so I'm not sure it qualifies for selection anyway? I'll have a gander with the RR and see what I truffle up. Anyway, this is beside the point if there's horror on it, which has been well covered, but just a side point.

49 minutes ago, zooeyglass said:

Is it worth making a distinction here around 'control' and threat area? The necronomicon is a) a weakness (which means while it may have a player card back, it's functionally considered an encounter card) and b) not in your in-play area but your threat area - so I'm not sure it qualifies for selection anyway? I'll have a gander with the RR and see what I truffle up. Anyway, this is beside the point if there's horror on it, which has been well covered, but just a side point.

Weaknesses with a player cardtype (asset, event, skill) are controlled by their bearer and, once their revelation effect, if any, is resolved, can be used as any other card of their type (RR p.21 - Weakness). So a Weakness asset (like the Necronomicon or Baron Samedi) is in the investigator's play area, not their threat area. What makes The Necronomicon (or Baron Samedi) unqualified is the "cannot leave play" in its text.

Edited by Khudzlin
5 hours ago, Khudzlin said:

So a Weakness asset (like the Necronomicon or Baron Samedi) is in the investigator's play area, not their threat area.

Well, the Necronomicon is in Daisy's threat area because of its Revelation effect (Samedi merely goes into play), but that doesn't change the fact that Daisy owns and controls it.

"Cannot leave play," is certainly the deciding factor, though, you're absolutely right. :)

Quick related question to this card:

If you don't have a non-story asset in play, you still discard the top 3 cards, right? There's no "then" in there, so the 2nd part doesn't seem conditional.

3 minutes ago, Casanunda said:

Quick related question to this card:

If you don't have a non-story asset in play, you still discard the top 3 cards, right? There's no "then" in there, so the 2nd part doesn't seem conditional.

We hit exactly this, and this is how we played it.