If this is figure A activation and figure B interrupt. During this interrupt it's not figure A activation anymore, right ?
Example:
Figure A is moving (it's figure A activation), figure B use parting blow, figure A use On The Lam.
Figure A gain X movement points. Is this added to figure A movement points total (it's is still figure A activation) or it need to be spent immediately as an interrupt or be lost (it's not figure A activation anymore)?
Interrupt
Performing move gives A movement points according to A's Speed, and because it is figure A's activation, they go into the movement point pool. A cannot spend the movement points until Parting Blow finishes.
I have to disagree with Your interpretation because as far as I understand INTERRUPT interrupts not only action but the whole activation.
Let's look at RRG p. 15
INTERRUPT
Some abilities use the term interrupt. When resolving an interrupt ability, players pause the current action of the game and resolve the interrupting ability . After the effect is resolved, players resume playing from the point that was interrupted. For example, if an attack is interrupted, the interrupting ability is fully resolved before players finish resolving the attack. • It is possible for a figure to interrupt its own activation.
If on the Lam says, that u can INTERRUPT to perform a move (and you can interrupt your own action), that means for the time being movement points are not gained DURING your activation (which stopped), so you have to spend them right away.
It is still your activation and On the Lam isn't a special action. (If movement points are received as part of a special action, or out of your activation, they do not go into movement point pool, but must be spent immediately.)
Spending movement points is not an interrupt.
Regardless of the unfortunate choice of words in the Interrupt section, the activation does not end (none of the At the end of activation abilities trigger) when you activate abilities out of the normal flow, it will still be the activation of the figure that is activating (or none). It would be more accurate to say "It is possible for a figure to interrupt its own abilities." Also, the word interrupt is mostly superfluous, because all abilities have a trigger condition to tell when they can be activated.
An activation only ends when the activating figure decides to end its activation.
Edited by a1bert
So we have two interpretations
Is it posible to get answers from developers (ffg) on this forum ? Or maybe it's better to write an email to some adres?
The developers do not answer in the forums. You can send a rules query through the web if you deem it necessary after getting feedback from the community.
However, your interpretation of no activation happening during interrupt abilities goes against what we know about the rules. You are the first person to read the rule that way since the game came out in 2014.
If the activation were to end during interrupts, then all the end-of-activation abilities should trigger, correct? But a figure also exhausts the deployment card or activation token at the end of their activation. There is nothing in the rules to tell us how the activation restarts, so the activation seems to just end to the interrupt if your interpretation were true.
There are two cases where an activation ends prematurely: if the activating figure is defeated during its own activation, and through the end of mission trigger (in skirmish reaching the required number of VP).
I agree with A1bert. The special situation here is that On The Lam is most effective out of activation, not during your own activation. So Parting Blow here has a chance to finish resolving it's interrupt. Then the activation resumes where it left off.
I agree with A1bert too.
Because it is your turn , and on the Lam is not a Special Action.
"Perform a Move" is taking a Move action, which is gaining Movement Points equal to your Speed.
Had this been outside your activation, you would then have to spend them immediately as a part of the interrupt.
Because it is during your activation you do not spend them immediately, they go into the movement pool and the Parting Blow is continued before you can spend the Movement Points.
18 hours ago, a1bert said:Regardless of the unfortunate choice of words in the Interrupt section, the activation does not end (...)
An activation only ends when the activating figure decides to end its activation.
I am not saying, that interrupt ends the activation. In my opinion Interrupt INTERRUPTS it (as the name says ;P) so we have sort of separate timing window, which is not an activation. (to clarifiy it's good to compare it to football match. Does the activities during the break after 1st half are part of the match? No. Did the match end? No ) However, I will not argue about that, because unfortunetly we don't have enought evidence to prove either of the interpratations is definetly right.
Do the activities on the break occur between the start and end of the match? Yes. (Or more aptly: do the activities on the break occur between you coming to the stadium and you leaving the stadium?)
It does not matter that abilities interrupt other abilities. There are plenty of abilities that trigger while resolving other abilities - they are performed and then you continue to resolve what was put on hold. Most abilities like these do not even use the word interrupt. They just have a trigger condition.
But it is still the activation of the activating figure (or no-one's activation if it happens outside of the activation phase). It is still between the start and end of that figure's activation.
Edited by a1bert
14 minutes ago, a1bert said:There are plenty of abilities that trigger while resolving other abilities - they are performed and then you continue to resolve what was put on hold. Most abilities like these do not even use the word interrupt. They just have a trigger condition.
Thats my point. I think, that the distinction between abilities with interrupt keyword and without it is really significant, because it separates actions into two groups - those taken outside of activation as an interrupt and those taken during activation.
However, arguing about it is pointless, because our positions are quite clear ATM
I sent rules query, so hopefully we will get our answer soon enough (unless of course my interpretation happens to be wrong - then I will delete the reply and pretend I never got it!)
OVER AND OUT!
Edited by Szycha52 minutes ago, Szycha said:Thats my point. I think, that the distinction between abilities with interrupt keyword and without it is really significant, because it separates actions into two groups - those taken outside of activation as an interrupt and those taken during activation.
I have to disagree with this. The rules quote you posted above, in the text you bolded says to "pause the current action," not the activation.
To assume that this would occur outside of the activation would be adding information that isn't there. I know the second bullet point you bolded mentions interrupting an activation, but it still never says there's a break in activation.
If the answer comes back agreeing with you then that would require a change (or at least a clarification) to the existing rules.
9 hours ago, Uninvited Guest said:I have to disagree with this. The rules quote you posted above, in the text you bolded says to "pause the current action," not the activation.
To assume that this would occur outside of the activation would be adding information that isn't there. I know the second bullet point you bolded mentions interrupting an activation, but it still never says there's a break in activation.
If the answer comes back agreeing with you then that would require a change (or at least a clarification) to the existing rules.
I agree here. The second bullet point merely clarifies that a figure can interrupt during their own activation.
But it doesn't pause the activation itself. It would simply follow the previous worded ruling on interrupt; that a figure can interrupt (pause) an action. (even if it's on it's own turn)
ok I got response