Wargs question

By caribecards, in Rules questions & answers

Hi,

If the shadow card has the shadow effect that indicates that an additional card needs to be taken from the encounter deck and this second card has no shadow effect, does Wargs return to the staging area?

Thanks for your help.

I think this would depend on the wording of the shadow effect.

The wording on Wargs is "If Wargs is dealt a shadow card with no effect..."

If the shadow card was Black Uruks for example, then its shadow effect is "If this attack is undefended, deal 2 additional shadow cards to attacking enemy." In this case if one of the two new shadow cards itself had no shadow effect, I assume that the Wargs would return to the staging area.

Which card are we talking about specifically?

Edited by jnicol

Hi,

Massing at night:

"Shadow: Deal X shadow cards to this attacker. X is the number of players in the game."

If this is the first card it has shadow effect then Wargs would not return to the staging area but what happens if the additional card has no shadow effect?, I'm thinking in a solo game.

Hi,

Massing at night:

"Shadow: Deal X shadow cards to this attacker. X is the number of players in the game."

If this is the first card it has shadow effect then Wargs would not return to the staging area but what happens if the additional card has no shadow effect?, I'm thinking in a solo game.

My interpretation is that yes, Wargs would return to the staging area if any of the X new shadow cards did not have a shadow effect.

If Massing at Night used any word other than "deal" then I think there might be wiggle room, but Wargs forced effect refers specifically to "dealt" cards, so it seems clear.