Grasping Tentacle questions

By jnicol, in Rules questions & answers

I have a couple of questions about Grasping Tentacle in The Watcher in the Water scenario.

GT has the forced effect:

" When Grasping Tentacle is attacked, discard the top card of the encounter deck. If that card has a shadow effect or is a Tentacle enemy, attach this card to an attacking character as a Tentacle attachment with the text: "Attached character's attack and defence are reduced to 0."

1. When exactly does this effect resolve? Is it the moment that the player declares attackers i.e. Before calculating or assigning damage to the Tentacle?

2. I assume that it is possible to avoid the forced effect by simply not attacking the Tentacle?

1/ You should declar your attackers first. But you may do action after the forced effect resolve (like gondorian fire).

2/ You are right!

52 minutes ago, Rouxxor said:

1/ You should declar your attackers first. But you may do action after the forced effect resolve (like gondorian fire).

Thanks. So I think that the order of play is:

1. Declare attackers
2. Resolve forced effect
3. If Grasping Tentacle attaches as the result of the forced effect then the attack is cancelled (no damage assigned), since the Tentacle is no longer an enemy

52 minutes ago, Rouxxor said:

2/ You are right!

Thanks for the confirmation!

I am playing this scenario for the first time and want to make sure that I get all of the Tentacle timings correct.

Edited by jnicol