I know how to place the tolkens and all the rules that go with it, but I'm not understanding the reasons for placing them. Can someone explain. the advantage of these tolkens.
Thanks
age
I know how to place the tolkens and all the rules that go with it, but I'm not understanding the reasons for placing them. Can someone explain. the advantage of these tolkens.
Thanks
age
They are used to mark territories that you've already moved to, and to generally mark units which have already moved. Their main purpose is to prevent you from activating the same area in the same year, and to prevent you from moving units that have already moved during the same year.
Ok thanks. sounds about right.
As a follow up, there is a tactics card that allows you to move an opponent's activiation token during your turn. Maybe I am thinking too hard about this one, but I fail to see the value in the card. Since you are playing it during your turn, the other player has already activated the hex and moved his troops to it.
What value does moving the activitation token have after the fact? Does it prevent someone else from activating the hex (I didn't think there was a limit to the number of people who could activate one).
Cheers
Which Tactics card are you referring to? I don't see it in my deck. The only 2 Tactics cards that deal with Activation Tokens are:
- Favor of the Warriors guild (which lets you and one opponent take a token off the board, effectively letting you move units in those areas again)
- Horrific Rumors (which allows YOU to place an opponent's token on the board in an area he doesn't control, effectively allowing you to prevent him from moving into that area this year; this token isn't moved from another area, but is taken from their reserves).
Unless I'm missing a Tactics card, there isn't one that lets you MOVE an activation token from one area to another area.
The tactics card allows you to remove one of your activation tokens from one area, at the cost of also allowing an opponent to remove one of his activation tokens from an area. The benefit of this (can be huge) is that you cannot move units from an area with one of your activation tokens, or re-activate an area with one of your activation tokens, until the next Spring. Removing an activation token allows you to, unexpectedly, move units twice in the same year.
Edit: Also what Sigmazero said.
I was talking about Horrific Rumors. I didn't think about taking an unused token and placing it on the board. I was only focusing on moving an existing token and didn't see much value in that.
Thanks for shedding light on it.
Cheers
sigmazero13 said:
Which Tactics card are you referring to? I don't see it in my deck. The only 2 Tactics cards that deal with Activation Tokens are:
- Favor of the Warriors guild (which lets you and one opponent take a token off the board, effectively letting you move units in those areas again)
- Horrific Rumors (which allows YOU to place an opponent's token on the board in an area he doesn't control, effectively allowing you to prevent him from moving into that area this year; this token isn't moved from another area, but is taken from their reserves).
Unless I'm missing a Tactics card, there isn't one that lets you MOVE an activation token from one area to another area.
Just a clarification so I don't screw up this tactic card. With Horrific Rumors, am I preventing him from moving INTO an area or OUT of an area? I think it's the latter, but wanted to double check.
umphrey1012 said:
sigmazero13 said:
Which Tactics card are you referring to? I don't see it in my deck. The only 2 Tactics cards that deal with Activation Tokens are:
- Favor of the Warriors guild (which lets you and one opponent take a token off the board, effectively letting you move units in those areas again)
- Horrific Rumors (which allows YOU to place an opponent's token on the board in an area he doesn't control, effectively allowing you to prevent him from moving into that area this year; this token isn't moved from another area, but is taken from their reserves).
Unless I'm missing a Tactics card, there isn't one that lets you MOVE an activation token from one area to another area.
Just a clarification so I don't screw up this tactic card. With Horrific Rumors, am I preventing him from moving INTO an area or OUT of an area? I think it's the latter, but wanted to double check.
Actually, it's both. Areas with activation tokens prevent units from moving INTO it (because you can't activate an already-activated area), and moving OUT of it (as units in an activated area cannot move).
horrific rumors says you can place an activation token only on a territory you control, so the activation token prevents one enemy from moving into your area to attack you. It doesnt get placed on an enemy hex to "trap" that army in its hex"
Obviously I don't have the text in front of me, but I thought it was an area that they didn't control, not necessarily an area that you d id.
broken said:
Obviously I don't have the text in front of me, but I thought it was an area that they didn't control, not necessarily an area that you d id.
I think you are correct. I'd have to look again, but I'm fairly sure you would use it on an area you don't control. So most likely this will be just to prevent units moving in, but there may be some way that's not coming to mind immediately that would get units in there.
Im not sure about the exact text, but I know you can NOT place the token in an area controlled by the target opponent ie you can't trap his army in a hex. Now whether you can place it an an empty or other enemy controlled area... i dont have the card in front of me.