Bound by honor

By ghosthack, in Runewars

The "Bound by honor" objective says that if all triangle units are allied to players you can discard the objective to gain one dragon rune. Last night I was playing and suddenly the triangle neutral units all were defeated. There was no city to place triangle units on the table.

So was the objective accomplished or not? Is it impossible to accomplish the objective? If so does the player just stick with his impossible objective. It would seem that it is still possible because contrary to other cards (giants and dragons) the card doesn't say that if it's impossible to achieve you get to discard it.

go recruit a triangle from a city

That's an interesting question, I'll have to look at the card for details. In Twilight Imperium, though, there is an objective called Keeper of the Gates which gives you 2 points if you control all the wormholes. But if there are NO wormholes, technically you can easily control all 0; (though there being 0 wormholes is rare, and if there is the objective is usually tossed.

Technically, I would say if there are no Triangle units on the board, it's easy to control all 0 Triangle Units. However, your group may decide to house rule it that if there ARE no Triangle Units, you can discard it and draw a new one like you would with the Giant or Dragon objectives.

The Giant and Dragon objectives tell you to discard it if there aren't enough Giants or Dragons to complete it. The triangle one does not.

broken said:

The Giant and Dragon objectives tell you to discard it if there aren't enough Giants or Dragons to complete it. The triangle one does not.

That's because you CAN get Triangle units through cities. However, in the case of the Triangles, it doesn't ask for you to be allied with a specific number like the Giant and Dragon ones do; and thus, the Triangle one would be trivially easy to do if there were none left; IE, controlling all 0 of the triangles is simple!

Hence, I would probably implement a house rule in my group that you cannot claim the objective unless there is at least 1 Triangle unit on the board; if there aren't, you can either wait, or optionally discard and redraw. Yes, unofficial, but it seems better than giving someone a "free" Rune because all the Triangles were wiped out! (Especially if the Good player with this objective helped do so; it's supposed to be a diplomatic objective, not a "genocide" one :) )

Tiago said:

There was no city to place triangle units on the table.

gran_risa.gif