The amusement over [redacted in case people are avoiding spoilers] got me to look at the uniqueness rules again:
QuoteIf any player has a unique card in play, no player can play or put into play another card with the same title. Any attempt to do so will fail to the extent that the card attempting to enter play remains in its current location (hand, deck, discard pile) and does not enter play.
(Emphasis mine.)
Does that mean you could waste 2 Leadership resources by attempting to play a Steward of Gondor when one is already on the table? Such an ability could be theoretically useful in dealing with, say, a Raid Leader from the Grey Havens box.
I'm guessing no based on the core rules' description of playing cards...
QuoteIn order for a player to play a card from his hand (or to activate certain card effects), he must pay for it by spending resource tokens from the resource pool of a hero who has a resource icon that matches the card’s sphere of influence.
...but I wanted to see what others thought, as the second sentence in the first quote gives me pause.
Edited by sappidus