Sorry to bug everyone with this but my gaming partner claims that critical effects don't count as damage.
I am of the firm opinion (and believe the above cited rules are clear) that a card dealt face up counts against the total hull points whereas he claims that a face up card is only counted for the effect printed on the card and not as 1 damage point.
According to him, a roll of CRIT, HIT, HIT equals 2 hits + critical effect, whereas I claim that its 3 hits + effect.
Can I get a quick confirmation so I can show him this before tonight's game?