Can you trigger surge ability even if they miss? For example Can Leia attack a hostile figure 19 tiles alway, but still have line of sight, miss the attack and use Military efficiency? Or same scenario but with Kayn Somos, then use Squad command?
Another surge and miss question.
If there is a keyword to it that leads to a condition, you can't use it (e.g. blast, cleave, focus, stun, weaken, bleed, hidden). Anything else can be used so long as you have a valid shot. So things like military efficiency, kayne somos's squad command, verena's fighting knife (in skirmish) and recover can all be used even if the attack doesn't have accuracy or the attack was dodged.
What MadFuhrer said, and also another important one is that in campaign you can still use one of your surges to recover a strain
Any surge abilities can be triggered during attack even if they do nothing.
Blast, Cleave, and Condition Keywords (and only Blast, Cleave, and Condition Keywords) require that the target suffered damage from the attack for the corresponding effect to be performed or to apply the corresponding condition after the attack resolves.
Other surge abilities are performed either immediately or when the ability specifies and with the condition the ability specifies.
Note the difference between Condition Keywords (for example Focus ) and the condition itself ( Focused ). If a surge ability gives a condition directly, the target does not need to suffer damage.
(Only heroes have the ~: Recover 1dmg ability in the campaign though.)
Edited by a1bert2 hours ago, MadFuhrer said:(e.g. blast, cleave, focus, stun, weaken, bleed, hidden)
Should be Hide . Hidden is the condition, Hide is the condition keyword.
The above rules and more in: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1631857/ability-resolution-order-during-attacks
3 hours ago, MadFuhrer said:If there is a keyword to it that leads to a condition, you can't use it (e.g. blast, cleave, focus, stun, weaken, bleed, hidden). Anything else can be used so long as you have a valid shot. So things like military efficiency, kayne somos's squad command, verena's fighting knife (in skirmish) and recover can all be used even if the attack doesn't have accuracy or the attack was dodged.
Thanks for the clarification everyone!
But as A1bert said, I also understand it as if a keyword is self; Focus, Hidden you can also use that with a failed attack
If an ability gives the Focus ed or Hidden condition directly. Focus and Hide
From the link:
Note:
All surge abilities can
always
be triggered during the attack (including Blast, Cleave and Condition keywords) even if they end up doing nothing. But Blast, Cleave and Condition Keywords, and
only
Blast, Cleave and Condition Keywords (Focus, Hide, Stun, Bleed, Weaken) require that the target suffered damage from the step 7 of the attack to be performed after the attack resolves.
Also note the difference between the Condition Keywords (Focus, Hide, Stun, Bleed, Weaken) and the conditions themselves (Focused, Hidden, Stunned, Bleeding, Weakened). If a surge ability gives the condition itself (like "become Hidden" or "Choose an adjacent friendly Trooper, that figure becomes focused."), it does not require that the target suffered damage from the attack.
Also, Pierce does not remove symbols or accuracy, so it does not happen during step 4. Pierce is taken into account in step 7. Calculate Damage. (A ruling exists for the Heavy Armor command card confirming the wording on the Rules Reference Guide.)
Also note that
miss
is not equal to not suffering damage.
Miss
is caused by a dodge rolled or insufficient accuracy and causes the target to suffer 0 damage from the attack. Not suffering any damage can also happen if there are more (unpierced) blocks than damage results. The distinction is relevant for abilities with a condition "if this attack does not
miss
" - even if the target does not suffer damage from the attack, you can still use the ability if it reached the required accuracy and the defender did not roll a dodge.
Just to add on to this very comprehensive thread - how about the surge ability Recover (x)? I am pretty sure we have been playing it where if an attack misses (White X - or accuracy rolled was not sufficient) you can still trigger the surge to Recover (x) damage on the figure declaring the attack. But we might be playing that wrong.
2 hours ago, totalnoob said:Just to add on to this very comprehensive thread - how about the surge ability Recover (x)? I am pretty sure we have been playing it where if an attack misses (White X - or accuracy rolled was not sufficient) you can still trigger the surge to Recover (x) damage on the figure declaring the attack. But we might be playing that wrong.
If i got the rule in the right way, Recover (x) is not a condition keyword, therefore you should be able to recover health even if the hit dealt 0 damage or didn't have enough accuracy.
It is fun using Leia's ability on doors (if the door can be attacked)
~D
The hero ability ~: recover 1 strain is not using a keyword (it is lowercase for one). It can thus be used even when the attack misses or would not cause the target to suffer damage. Also note that the strain is recovered immediately when the surge is spent, so Fenn can then suffer strain during the same attack to activate Havoc Shot.
1 hour ago, HoodieDM said:It is fun using Leia's ability on doors (if the door can be attacked)
![]()
~D
True, and Agent Blaise's Interrogation is even better *evil laugh*
3 hours ago, a1bert said:The hero ability ~: recover 1 strain is not using a keyword (it is lowercase for one). It can thus be used even when the attack misses or would not cause the target to suffer damage. Also note that the strain is recovered immediately when the surge is spent, so Fenn can then suffer strain during the same attack to activate Havoc Shot.
I thought those effects are given after the attack is resolved?
8 hours ago, DKNecrosis said:I thought those effects are given after the attack is resolved?
Recover damage is using the Recover keyword, and is defined to happen after the attack resolves. The timing of ~: recover strain is not defined anywhere in the rules, but has been confirmed by FFG to happen when you spend the surge, like any other surge ability that has no explicit text to specify a different timing.
Blast, Cleave, and Condition Keywords are all activated when the surge is spent or the keyword is added otherwise, but they are performed/applied after the attack resolves (if the target suffered damage from the attack).
1 hour ago, a1bert said:Recover damage is using the Recover keyword, and is defined to happen after the attack resolves. The timing of ~: recover strain is not defined anywhere in the rules, but has been confirmed by FFG to happen when you spend the surge, like any other surge ability that has no explicit text to specify a different timing.
Blast, Cleave, and Condition Keywords are all activated when the surge is spent or the keyword is added otherwise, but they are performed/applied after the attack resolves (if the target suffered damage from the attack).
Wait, i'm confused now xD
So
~:
Recover
damage
and
~:
Recover
strain
need the attack to deal at least 1 damage?
Recover is a keyword due to capitalization, but it is not a Condition Keyword . Only Blast, Cleave, and Condition Keywords (Focus, Hide, Stun, Bleed, Weaken at the moment) require that the target suffered damage from the attack.
Note the different capitalization between ~: Recover damage and ~: recover strain . The upper-case Recover is a keyword, and also Recover damage has been defined by the rules to be performed after the attack resolves (but does not need the target to suffer damage). The lower-case recover is not a keyword, and recover strain is performed when the strain is spent.
18 minutes ago, a1bert said:Recover is a keyword due to capitalization, but it is not a Condition Keyword . Only Blast, Cleave, and Condition Keywords (Focus, Hide, Stun, Bleed, Weaken at the moment) require that the target suffered damage from the attack.
Note the different capitalization between ~: Recover damage and ~: recover strain . The upper-case Recover is a keyword, and also Recover damage has been defined by the rules to be performed after the attack resolves (but does not need the target to suffer damage). The lower-case recover is not a keyword, and recover strain is performed when the strain is spent.
Thank you for the clarification, even though I got more confused until I got it. You need to lawyer up when you play this competitively against a friend, to make sure it's a keyword, or if the letter is capitalized or not.
Recover damage timing can be found from the rules, recover strain timing from FFG rulings. You don't really need to mess with what is a keywords and which is not, so maybe I should not have brought it up.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1373530/ffg-unofficial-answers-rules-questions-thread-read