Regarding to this unit forced :
Can I select a unit that is already corrupt as target? For example one of my corrupts units in the same area.
Regarding to this unit forced :
Can I select a unit that is already corrupt as target? For example one of my corrupts units in the same area.
Since it's a Forced effect I would rule you have to choose an uncorrupted unit if able.
Good question. It does not say to choose a target uncorrupted unit it reads, "Forced: After this unit enters play, corrupt one target unit in any player's corresponding zone." I would say yes you can target a corrupted unit and then the forced effect tries to corrupt it essentially failing. Now I say this only because there is nothing specific in the targeting of the card that requires the unit to be uncorrupted and there is nothing in the rules under illegal target that says that when you a target that target must be available for the entire effect to resolve on upon triggering. I would rule it this way for now, but suggest you send it into James. I would not be the least bit surprised if he answered that yes, the target must be able to be acted upon by the effect in order to be a legal target. It is just as of right now that slight but important distinction has never been stated. IOW I believe my own interpretation to be "rules lawyering," splitting hairs grammatically, and probably defying their intent by doing so.
In the case of Warp Lightning Cannon ("Attach to a target unit. Corrupt that unit. Attached unit gains PPP while attacking or defending."), the FAQ stated that Warp Lightning Cannon " can be played on an already corrupt unit. The 'corrupt that unit' effect is cancelled. "
But the Warp Lightning Cannon is a Constant Effect, while Festerling Nurglings are a Forced Effect, and Forced Effects cannot be canceled. An effect failing may not be the same thing as an effect being canceled. I think my ruling is the correct one given the rules as we know them, but that does not mean I think it is the one which when it is pointed out to James, that it is the one he may decide on given his more in-depth understanding of the rules.
FAQ also missed a clarification on the WCL, whether you can attach it to an opponent's unit.
I'm talking about Nurglins, not WLC. In this ponint there's not clarification in the FAQ or the rules?
dormouse said:
But the Warp Lightning Cannon is a Constant Effect, while Festerling Nurglings are a Forced Effect, and Forced Effects cannot be canceled. An effect failing may not be the same thing as an effect being canceled. I think my ruling is the correct one given the rules as we know them, but that does not mean I think it is the one which when it is pointed out to James, that it is the one he may decide on given his more in-depth understanding of the rules.
Dam said:
FAQ also missed a clarification on the WCL, whether you can attach it to an opponent's unit.
The rulebook has the asnwer for you. Page 10, capital phase:
"The capital phase is the only phase in which a player is allowed to play a unit, support , and quest cards from his hand to his three zones."
So.. no, you cant play it on another players units as long as they arent in your zone (which can sort of happen with the new DE stealing trick)
But WLC says "target unit", not "target unit you control" (or the like). And cards > rules if there is a conflict.
With those Nurgles I'm thinking that this is wrong interpretation. Corrupted unit cannot be corrupted again! WLC says that there is possibility, but in Nurgles there is no mention of that. If there is another unit able to be corrupted this unit need to be target.
For what it is worth here is my take.
Festering Nurglings reads you have to corrupt a target unit. I don't believe that applying this effect to a corrupted unit is corrupting that unit. It is already corrupted, if all units in your opponents corresponding zone are corrupted, then you must corrupt the Festering Nurglings you just played, or another unit in your zone if you have one already there that isn't corrupted.
WCL says you can attach to a target unit, and doesn't specify a unit you control, or a unit in your battlefield, as other support cards state. I wouldn't be surprised if a ruling comes out that says you can't play units outside of your zones, but based on the wording of the card, I would follow the Golden Rule, and yes, you can attach to your opponent's units.