A few questions

By Hurdoc, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Just looking at the FAQ:

1) I used to play Cull the Weak on Fledgling Chaos Spawn to activate their effect but the FAQ says sacrifice is not the same as destroy, so I guess this combination no longer works?

2) Do Forced effects open up an action window? After my Sadistic Mutation does damage to a Lobber Crew, could my opponent sacrifice the latter for its Action? I think no because the original rulebook lists 4 card effects: Actions, Forced Effects, Constant Effects, and Keywords... and, according to page 15, Actions can be played "in response" only to Actions.

Hurdoc said:

Just looking at the FAQ:

1) I used to play Cull the Weak on Fledgling Chaos Spawn to activate their effect but the FAQ says sacrifice is not the same as destroy, so I guess this combination no longer works?

2) Do Forced effects open up an action window? After my Sadistic Mutation does damage to a Lobber Crew, could my opponent sacrifice the latter for its Action? I think no because the original rulebook lists 4 card effects: Actions, Forced Effects, Constant Effects, and Keywords... and, according to page 15, Actions can be played "in response" only to Actions.





To be honest, Culling the Weak + Fledgling Chaos Spawn combo didn't work even pre-FAQ, though you had to read a lot more carefully on what did what. Destroy term was only mentioned with regard to Unit taking enough damage to kill it (or using a Destroy-effect as in one of the examples). Sacrifice wasn't destroy. This ruling is one of the points the FAQ got right IMO.

Yes, in retrospect I realize that I probably was playing it wrong all along, with regards to question one.

The second question I am still unclear about.... any thoughts?

No damage dealing effect opens an Action Window by itself. If you play/use an Action that deals damage, the window already existed, if it's a Forced, there is no window between assigning and applying damage and no window is created.

Hurdoc said:

2) Do Forced effects open up an action window? After my Sadistic Mutation does damage to a Lobber Crew, could my opponent sacrifice the latter for its Action? I think no because the original rulebook lists 4 card effects: Actions, Forced Effects, Constant Effects, and Keywords... and, according to page 15, Actions can be played "in response" only to Actions.



Gerson said:

Hurdoc said:

2) Do Forced effects open up an action window? After my Sadistic Mutation does damage to a Lobber Crew, could my opponent sacrifice the latter for its Action? I think no because the original rulebook lists 4 card effects: Actions, Forced Effects, Constant Effects, and Keywords... and, according to page 15, Actions can be played "in response" only to Actions.



"Forced effects always occur immediately whenever their trigger is met, and they cannot be cancelled or interrupted by other actions." (rulebook, p.15)

Can a Warrior Priest redirect the first damage put on it by Followers of Mork? In other words, Forced effects cannot be interuppted by actions, but can they be interrupted by other Forced Effects? Or in this example, is the Warrior Priest's effect ignored?

FAQ answers this queston quite clearly.

Non-combat damage is applied as soon as it is assigned. As a result, there is no moment for Priest to redirect the damage.

IMHO of course ;)

I would say it would redirect the damage. You may not be able to respond to the damage being assigned, but you could respond to a tactic being played that damages something. The part on the priest is where it says "the first damage" is what makes me think this.

"Forced effects always occur immediately whenever their trigger is met, and they cannot be cancelled or interrupted by other actions." (rulebook, p.15) was quoted by Hurdoc, but the forced effect on the priest would trigger as soon as the damage was assigned meeting the triggers requirement.

This is only my interpretation, but it sounds most logical to me.