OFFICIAL ANSWERS regarding heroes looking at rune tokens and chaos sorcerers

By mateooo, in Runewars

Rule Question:
when a hero moves during the quest phase, is he able to look at a dragon rune in each hex he passes through? (one rune in his starting location, one in the first hex he moves into, and then another in the final hex ends up in) Also, does the same apply for exchanging rewards? pass off an item has a hero moves through a hex with another hero.

ANSWER: Yes, he may look at each rune token in areas he passes through. A player may look at rune tokens in his hero's area at any time.

QUESTION: Rule Question:
How does a chaos sorcerer special ability (opponent must destroy two triangle or one square unit) work in these situations.
1) opponent has one standing triangle unit and one standing square. Does he have to destroy the square or can he just destroy one triangle?
2) one standing triangle, two routed triangles, and one standing square. Can the opponent choose to destroy the 2 routed triangles? or must he destroy the square?

ANSWER: 1) He must destroy the square (as this is the only option he can completely fulfill).
2) He could destroy the two routed triangle units, as this ability does not require the units to be standing.

unexpected... but fine.

Rulebook says you have to choose to damage a nonrouted unit before a routed unit

but it doesnt say anything about DESTROYING units

mateooo said:

Rulebook says you have to choose to damage a nonrouted unit before a routed unit

but it doesnt say anything about DESTROYING units

Well, there's the rule on Page 22: "When a player is forced to damage or destroy one of his units, he must always choose a standing unit if able (as opposed to a routed one)."

However, it says "his units", so that means the rule wouldn't necessarily apply if the OTHER player is choosing which of your units to destroy. (Though he'd probably want to pick standing units if he could, as that lowers the opponent's strength).

I'll add these to my List-O-Corey-Rulings and update it on the BGG site when I get some more back from my recent batches.

I just re-read the Warlock's ability; I think maybe Corey's ruling may be at odds with the ruling.

Battlemage Jaes' ability says YOU choose (IE, Jaes' controller). The Warlock ability says the OPPONENT chooses (ie, his own units). Thus, based on page 22, where it says you cannot destroy routed units if you have standing units, I think this should be brought back to Corey for re-examination!

Would you like to do that, mateooo, or would you like me to?