Compiled Rulings

By sigmazero13, in Runewars

In case anyone is interested, I have started to compile some rulings from Corey that aren't in the FAQ. They are mostly questions I got responses from, but if anyone has others that I've missed, let me know. The only criteria are that the responses DO need to come from Corey, and that they aren't already in the FAQ.

Here's the link:

javascript:void(0);/*1265400944570*/

I think these questions from a previous post are missing:

1) lets say you have 3 heroes and 2 quests... Can you, during the Summer quest phase send first hero on quest 1 and complete it, and get a replacement quest 3 Send second hero on quest 2, complete it and get replacement quest 4 Send third hero on quest 3 or 4 (the new quest you got from the first two heroes finishing their quests?
Answer: Yes, you complete a quest card that you have drawn in the same quest phase. As long as each hero does not attempt more than 1 quest, this is perfectly legal!

2) Also, if you fail a quest, do you keep it (and are you able to try it again the same turn with a different hero? (assuming the quest doesnt say otherwise)
Answer: If you fail a quest, you keep it unless the text specifically says to discard it.If you fail a quest, you keep it unless the text specifically says to discard it.

3) winning the game: Do you win as soon as you have 6 runes? or at the end of the turn?
Answer: A player wins the game AS SOON as he has 6 Dragon Runes. He simply declares that he has won, reveals the runes, and the game immediately ends. He does not need to wait until the end of the round.


4) If I MOBILIZE and send 10 units into an area with a large group of 5 neutrals, I attempt diplomacy and succeed. Now I have 15 units (10 of my original army and 5 allied neurtrals). What can I do? I know I can overstack to attack... but what if I attempt diplomacy and succeed? am I able to retreat my excess units? Can I retreat any excess neutrals? Am I unable to retreat any units because no battle was conducted, and then I have to kill units down to 8?
Answer: In your diplomacy example, you would NOT be able to retreat the excess units. In fact, you cannot bring more than 8 into the area unless you start a battle INSTEAD of attempting diplomacy. This means that you cant send in more than 8 units if you are going to attempt diplomacy, even if you are expecting to battle. And you lose any excess units if you succeed in diplomacy.

#2 is in the official FAQ. I'll add the other 3 to the next version of my list.

I definitely appreciate your answer compilations. I have it printed out and we use it in our games. One thing I would like to note, you have:

"Q: Can a Hero pick up Reward cards during his controller's
turn, such as during a Strategize order?
A: Yes, A player may pick up reward cards from a defeated
hero when the hero enters the area during the quest phase
OR at any point during the player's turn."

It says pretty explicitly that that is how you do it in the rulebook. The real question was can you pick rewards up from a defeated hero marker at any time during the quest phase, and not just on your turn, because it says in the rules "Any hero present in an area containing a defeated hero marker
during his controller’s turn... ". I just wanted to point this out because someone who had specifically the same question I did might gloss over that, as written, because the question is something they already know the answer to.

Otherwise, awesome.

broken said:

I definitely appreciate your answer compilations. I have it printed out and we use it in our games. One thing I would like to note, you have:

"Q: Can a Hero pick up Reward cards during his controller's
turn, such as during a Strategize order?
A: Yes, A player may pick up reward cards from a defeated
hero when the hero enters the area during the quest phase
OR at any point during the player's turn."

It says pretty explicitly that that is how you do it in the rulebook. The real question was can you pick rewards up from a defeated hero marker at any time during the quest phase, and not just on your turn, because it says in the rules "Any hero present in an area containing a defeated hero marker
during his controller’s turn... ". I just wanted to point this out because someone who had specifically the same question I did might gloss over that, as written, because the question is something they already know the answer to.

Otherwise, awesome.

Good point, I'll make the change to the question; the question, as you said, is answered in the rules, the reason this went to Corey is to ask about the Quest phase. Thanks for pointing it out.