Questions about unit's ability and Reward cards...

By brian31, in Runewars

Chaos Lord's Terrifying : " Choose 2 ennemy units. Each chosen unit is routed (if it was already routed it is destroyed) "

Question : May I have to choose standing units in priority, or am I able to choose some routed one ?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bowman's Concentrated Fire : " Deal 1 damage. Your opponent must assign this to a unit with more than 1 health (if able) "

Question : Does my opponent have to choose a unit with more than 1 health, even it's a routed one, or not ?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dwarven Fire Bombs Reward card : " Deal 3 damages, then test this hero's agility : Red symbol -> Deal this hero 1 damage "

Question : I have a hero with 3 agility. I drew 3 cards, if anyone of them is a red symbol, my hero take 1 damage ? ( I don't have to choose one card )

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flute of possession Reward card : " During your turn, you may discard this card to move all neutral units from this area to the adjacent area of your choice "

Question : if I move all neutral units in an adjacent area with friendly units, does I take control of the neutral units ? ( since they are on an area with friendly units but I DONT make a mobilize or conquer order )

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Staff of Light & Ice Storm Reward cards : Did they work during battle, or only before or after ?

Pfiouuuuuu.... a lot of questions ! ;)

Okay, I can at least answer some of your questions.


Terrifiying: The OWNER of the Chaos Lord chooses the enemy units to rout / destroy. He may choose freely.


Concentrated Fire: You have to assign the damage to standing units, if able (page 22). So if you have standing units with more than 1 HP, they

must take the damage. If you only have routed units with more than 1 HP, they are dealt the damage.

Dwarven Fire Bombs: As page 26 says, in any attribute tests you draw a number of cards equal to your attribute score and then CHOOSE one of these

to resolve. So even if you draw a red symbol, you don't need to resolve it, if you have chosen another one (otherwise, a high attribute score would be

a disadvantage).

Here's my crack at these, but I am likely not correct on everything.

1) Terriffying ability. Since the ability says to choose 2 units and gives bno other requirements on those units, I would say you can choose standing or routed units of your choice. I am guessing some will not agree with that though.

2) Concentrated fire. I would say your opponent has to assign the damage as follows: standing unit with 2+ life>standing unit with 1 life>routed unit with 2+ life>routed unit with 1 life. I think damage on standing units would still get priority over applying it to a unit with 2+ life that is routed.

3) Dwarven fire bombs. Testing agility means you draw a number of cards equal to your agility and choose the one to resolve. You would only take the damage is the card you chose has a red symbol, not if any of them did.

4) Flute of possession. I played it where yes, you are able to move the nuetral units to an adjacent hex. If the hex you moved them to had units of any player, the neutral units would become allied with that player. I did also play where the hero had to be in the hex containing the neutral units at the time this card was played (during your turn NOT during the hero quest phase) since the card says you move all neutral units "from this area".

5) I don't have the exact text on tehse cards at work so I can't let you know what I think about these now, sorry.

I would agree with Asylur on all of these, including not having enough information on #5 to say anything.

On point 4 I agree with Asylur, that the hero in possession of the flute MUST be present in the area with the neutrals, as it says "from THIS area" and

can thus only refer to the area where the flute is located (wouldn't make sense otherwise, or the flute had to be quite loud).

I am not really sure about the allying thing though, since:

"Neutral units are always treated as enemy units, unless a player has allied with them (by using Diplomacy)" (page 19)

BUT

"When a player’s units coexist in an area containing neutral units
(outside of attempting diplomacy or fighting a battle against them),
the neutral units are considered allied" (page 19)

So I am not sure whether the neutrals will attack or join your forces, rulewise.

Personally, I would rule that they join your forces if they come to your area, and attack enemy (your enemy) forces if they enter their area.
It's a flute of possession after all, so they should be possessed enough to fight for your cause. :P (not rule-proof!)

I agree with Asylur.

I also got an email from Corey (in my last batch; I need to compile them an post them on the 'Geek) about #4: The neutral units do indeed ally with the player who you move them to.