Adjacent objects

By Leuwart, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

We recently played Aftermath an came up with this problem:

The Rebels have to destroy terminals by dealing damage to them. A terminal defends with one block or - when at least one imperial figure is adjacent to it - two blocks. The question is: does a imp figure count as adjacent when standing on the same space as the object? I (the imperial player) decided that it does, because otherwise it does not make any sense in this case. But is that correct?

I looked up the rules section but I couldn't find an answer to that. In fact objects are in some cases adjacent in others they are not:

  • Melee attacks: allowed to objects on adjacent spaces or the same space as the attacker (so RAW it is not adjacent)
  • Interaction: allowed with objects on adjacent spaces ore the same space (RAW not adjacent)
  • Ranged attacks: not adjacent, so you need an accuracy of 0 to hit the object
  • Blast: when a figure on the same space is attacked the object counts as adjacent and is hit by blast

For melee attacks and interaction adjacency is irrelevant because you can do this to objects on adjacent spaces and the same space. For ranged attacks adjacency would be a disadvantage, because you need 1 accuracy (okay not really that disadvantage, because 1 accuracy you should get almost anytime). For Blast it counts as adjacent, because it wouldn't make any sense if not.

Considering these cases I'm pretty sure, that we did it correctly (loosing the bonus block when the figure is on the same space feels strange), but what do you think?

It's actually the reverse (if the terminal is adjacent to an imperial figure), although it does not matter, because there is no non-reciprocal adjacency.

A non-companion figure in the same space as an object is not adjacent to that object, thus "on or adjacent" is used in mission rules. However, "on or" may be nissing from some mission rules by mistake, and I assume Aftermath is one of those.

So we played it intuitively correct ... although for the wrong reason. Thank you!