Salvation Crits Can Be Braced, Right?

By Valca, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I don't know how I came to the conclusion that the extra damage from Salvation's crits can't be braced, but I did. Now the idea seems a off, so asking for clarification.

All Salvation does, is when you are Calculating how much Damage you have by looking at Die symbols - If you have a "Crit" Showing, and its from the front Arc, it counts as '2' rather than '1'.

Its not a Critical Effect. You can still use a Critical Effect (such as the Default, or say, XX-9 Turbolasers) without it mattering a ****, as you do not 'discard' critical symbols to use critical effects unless you're told to (and hint: No current critical effect tells you to.)

So as per normal, you tally up how much Damage you have done.

You count any Hit symbols as one, and any Crit symbols as 2.

This gives you total value.

If the enemy has Braced, you halve that number.

At that point, its irrelevant how many crit symbols or showing, or the colour of the dice, or anything like that... You are halving the number only.

Edited by Drasnighta
4 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

Its not a Critical Effect. You can still use a Critical Effect (such as the Default, or say, XX-9 Turbolasers) without it mattering a ****, as you do not 'discard' critical symbols to use critical effects unless you're told to (and hint: No current critical effect tells you to. )

Dodonna's Pride is sad that you have forgotten it.

1 minute ago, BiggsIRL said:

Dodonna's Pride is sad that you have forgotten it.

Didn't forget it.

:D

I Completely Ignored the Overachieving bastard, as I do every time :D .

(It is a technicality, yes... You don't have to discard the Critical Die to trigger the Critical Effect... Instead, as a Result of Triggering the Critical Effect, you Discard all of your dice.)

Edited by Drasnighta