There are a couple season cards that say
pay one influence to draw a new objective, then discard down to one objective
what if you have already completely your objective? do you get a second objective?
thanks
There are a couple season cards that say
pay one influence to draw a new objective, then discard down to one objective
what if you have already completely your objective? do you get a second objective?
thanks
I"d say that's a good question for the "rules questions" contact page!
TK
I was under the impression that you cuold not draw a new objective card if you had already completed your old one. I don't have the whole card's text in front of me though (at work).
I think this is the primary method to either :
1- change a "bad" objective for another
2- get a new objective ( after you've completed the previous one )
Wow, if it lets you get a second objective after completing your first that's really powerful! It would encourage players not to turtle their objective unilt the end as a final "gotcha" for that last rune! I'll look more cloesly at teh card tonight (unless someone posts the wording before I get home).
Thanks for bringing this to my attention!
Keep in mind, per page 30, when you fulfill your objective, you DISCARD IT to get the Dragon Rune - thus, you don't have it anymore. As such, when the Prepare for the Coming Year comes up, and you spend an influence, it is easy to discard down to 1 card - since you had 0, and draw 1, you are back at 1!
You do not "keep" the completed objective, so you still only have 1 card.
As such, I am definitely convinced that it would allow you to achieve a second objective if you were fortunate enough to have completed your first one already. Nothing in the rules implies that you can only complete one objective during the course of a game.
I'd agree with Siggy on this one. Probably good to submit this question to Corey in the next batch, and hopefully we'll see it in FAQ 1.3.
Some things in the rules are ambiguous, some are not. I don't think this is. There's no reason to believe you couldn't get a second objective from that season card, providing you completed one already.
Fair enough. I wish that the objectives were about as easy to complete. It is a lot easier to discard 6 tactics cards then to ally with 2 dragons when the starting tiles max out at 3 (if I am not mistaking). Letting someone get a second objective card because they got an easy first one will be interesting!
On that note, I have debated making a house rule that players can recieve their objective card before determining their starting location. A lot of the objectives key on board hexes and become extremely difficult if you did not get a good location. Ally (or killing ) dragons or giants (though killing is a lot easier since there is a good chance they will be backed into a corner and get killed when they can't retreat anymore), even the 8 of a certain resource can be hard if not in a good location.
Has anyone else tried letting people get their objective card before choosing starting location? Has anyone tried letting each player recieve 2 objective cards and keep one?
Asylur said:
Has anyone else tried letting people get their objective card before choosing starting location?
I haven't tried that but I definitely would not oppose to it as it adds strategy to the game in place of randomness.
What I do however before starting locations are chosen is set-up the neutral units on the board ( so that you get a better view of what is where ) and maybe more important : assign the cities to the board.
Playing as the Elves , for example, being close to one of the cities where you can rally Pegasus Riders is certainly something to take into consideration
Whereas the undead like to be in the neighbourhood of a city where you can rally Necromancers...
DarkElf said:
Asylur said:
Has anyone else tried letting people get their objective card before choosing starting location?
I haven't tried that but I definitely would not oppose to it as it adds strategy to the game in place of randomness.
What I do however before starting locations are chosen is set-up the neutral units on the board ( so that you get a better view of what is where ) and maybe more important : assign the cities to the board.
Playing as the Elves , for example, being close to one of the cities where you can rally Pegasus Riders is certainly something to take into consideration
Whereas the undead like to be in the neighbourhood of a city where you can rally Necromancers...
I also deploy the neutral units so people make more informed choices about their starting loctaions.
I I am not mistaking, though, when you rally support from a city you get neutral units of the matching base type, not your units. A circle city would get sorcerers (not necros) and a rectangle would get hellhounds (not pegasus riders). I think page 35 is pretty clear about that, unless I am misunderstanding what you were saying.
Asylur said:
I I am not mistaking, though, when you rally support from a city you get neutral units of the matching base type, not your units. A circle city would get sorcerers (not necros) and a rectangle would get hellhounds (not pegasus riders). I think page 35 is pretty clear about that, unless I am misunderstanding what you were saying.
Definitely the case - the Circle/Rectangle/Triangle icon in the cities is for recruiting NEUTRAL units.
Meaning you can recruit Sorceres (only) in Circle cities, Hellhounds (only) in Rectangle cities, and either Beastman or Razorwings (your choice) in Triangle cities. You never recruit your own units in a city.
That being said, while I can understand wanting to put the cities on first, I don't think I would do that in my games. Knowing the neutrals and the resources is the primary thing to consider, in my opinion.
mateooo said:
pay one influence to draw a new objective, then discard down to one objective
If you have zero objective card in hand, I think it's useless since you MUST discard an objective card after drew a new one...
Am I right ?
"Discard down to one" means "discard until you only have one". If you start out with only one before you "discard down to one" then you don't need to discard any.
Agreed, discarding 0 cards is fine, as long as doing so means you only have one left.
The concept of "Discard Down to X" is not new to Runewars - it's used in many games, and simply means "If you have X or less cards, you discard 0 cards; if you have more than X, you discard until you only have X left".
Oh yes, It was a misunderstanding on my part on the text! In this case, I agree you are able to keep the new one in hand, of course
I agree with everyone whose interpretation is, by the RAW, that you can end up with a second objective after the first is completed. I am wondering if that is really the intent though as there are rare but potentially strong interactions with this and the objectives that say 'when all are destroyed'.
Scenario:
1) At the start of the game there were three giants
2) Currently there are no giants left in play
A) I complete my first objective. Gain rune.
B) We are told to draw a new objective card (seasonal effect)
C) I get the card that says "If there are not any Giants in play during your turn , you may discard this card to gain 1 dragon rune."
I get another dragon rune for the low low price of really really cheap.
Heavily Edited: Made major changes to this after I realized the 'good' objective is not negatively impacted by the 'ally' version of the cards
Callistan said:
I agree with everyone whose interpretation is, by the RAW, that you can end up with a second objective after the first is completed. I am wondering if that is really the intent though as there are rare but potentially strong interactions with this and the objectives that say 'when all are destroyed'.
Scenario:
1) At the start of the game there were three giants
2) Currently there are no giants left in play
A) I complete my first objective. Gain rune.
B) We are told to draw a new objective card (seasonal effect)
C) I get the card that says "If there are not any Giants in play during your turn , you may discard this card to gain 1 dragon rune."
I get another dragon rune for the low low price of really really cheap.
Heavily Edited: Made major changes to this after I realized the 'good' objective is not negatively impacted by the 'ally' version of the cards
Sounds fine to me. Lucky, but fine!
Callistan said:
I agree with everyone whose interpretation is, by the RAW, that you can end up with a second objective after the first is completed. I am wondering if that is really the intent though as there are rare but potentially strong interactions with this and the objectives that say 'when all are destroyed'.
Scenario:
1) At the start of the game there were three giants
2) Currently there are no giants left in play
A) I complete my first objective. Gain rune.
B) We are told to draw a new objective card (seasonal effect)
C) I get the card that says "If there are not any Giants in play during your turn , you may discard this card to gain 1 dragon rune."
I get another dragon rune for the low low price of really really cheap.
Heavily Edited: Made major changes to this after I realized the 'good' objective is not negatively impacted by the 'ally' version of the cards
If it wasn't the intent, it would be worded something like this:
Each player may spend one influence. Each player that does so may discard their current objective to draw a new one.