shot to empty space

By fabiofotomoto, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi

can i shot an empty space to active the effect of some surge, as recovery damage, Leila re-draw a card etc? or i can only shot to a valid target ( figure or sometimes objects)?

thanks Fabio

When you declare an attack you declare a target, which can only be a hostile figure or an object that can be attacked.

You cannot target a space with an attack, although the attack creates a target(ed) space for the use of some abilities (Blast).