Stupid questions from rookie

By Vasiliy2, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi,

I just bought the Talisman and never play before

1. How I understand if PC begin the game in Tavern then he can not use Tavern's options? And PC can not miss movement voluntary (to try Tavern's services second turn in line)?

2. After landing the space can PC drop 1-3 objects or followers and do not take any adventure cards?

Thanks

Vasiliy

Vasiliy said:

Hi,

I just bought the Talisman and never play before

1. How I understand if PC begin the game in Tavern then he can not use Tavern's options? And PC can not miss movement voluntary (to try Tavern's services second turn in line)?

2. After landing the space can PC 1-3 objects or followers and do not take any adventure cards?

Thanks

Vasiliy

#1: You always have to move (unless you're missing turns). Also, you never encounter the space you start the turn in. However, with in 1 turn, you could start in Tavern, move to another space, draw an Adventure card that moves you to Tavern. In this case, you would encounter Tavern, since you did encounter the other space.

#2: Yes, ditching can happen at any time.

Point to #2.

I'd say that you could NOT cards in order to fulfil the 'Do Not Take A Card If There Is One Already Here'.
The first thing you should do is encoutner the square - i.e. draw a card I'd say.
There was not already a card there when you landed so Drw 1 - now you can stuff if you want

However the FAQ states

Ruins
Q: Can a character ditch an Object or Follower after drawing
the first card to avoid drawing the second card?
A: Yes. Remember, however, that if a character ditches
Objects or Followers he cannot take them back during the
same turn.

Take that as you will for ruling on Draw 1 Card spaces - I'm not entirely sure

Doucha said:

Point to #2.

I'd say that you could NOT cards in order to fulfil the 'Do Not Take A Card If There Is One Already Here'.
The first thing you should do is encoutner the square - i.e. draw a card I'd say.
There was not already a card there when you landed so Drw 1 - now you can stuff if you want

It is not the first thing you do. Druid landing in Woods gets to fill his Spells before anything else, same for Leprechaun with Gold. And ditching can happen at any time, so if you have 1 Life left, have used Divination (or are Sage) and know the next card will kill you, land in a space, ditch to avoid draw and live.