I am relatively new

By Trudem, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I am sure this has been covered several times but I cant find any wording on it other than someone telling me you can't do it so I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

Single Purpose - why cant you use it on a special ability that allows you to attack?

Is it just because only certain figures can attack twice in a round? It specifically came up for Vinto and his Rapid Fire ability.

I appreciate any and all insight.

I saw an explanation broken down on the multiple attacks topic two threads down. I think I got it now.

The number of attacks is not restricted, just the actions containing attacks. Rapid Fire is still just one action containing one or more attacks, just like Brutality.

Draw obviously lets Vinto attack again so there are ways around it but I think Single Purpose should allow it but meh guess its not that big of a deal.

Draw! isn't an action, it allows to perform an attack (not the Attack action, nor any special action containing attacks, just perform an attack using the attack type and attack pool specified in the deployment card), so the attack can be performed even if Vinto has already performed an action that contained attacks. (Or perform the attack from Draw! first, and then use Rapid Fire. Performing an attack from an ability that isn't an action does not count towards the only-one-action-containing-attacks-during-your-activation limitation.)

Single Purpose allows to perform the same special action twice, but it does not allow you to perform another action containing attacks, unless the figure also has Assault .

Edited by a1bert
4 minutes ago, a1bert said:

Draw! isn't an action, it allows to perform an attack (not the Attack action, nor any special action containing attacks, just perform an attack using the attack type and attack pool specified in the deployment card), so the attack can be performed even if Vinto has already performed an action that contained attacks. (Or perform the attack from Draw! first, and then use Rapid Fire. Performing an attack from an ability that isn't an action does not count towards the only-one-action-containing-attacks-during-your-activation limitation.)

Single Purpose allows to perform the same special action twice, but it does not allow you to perform another action containing attacks, unless the figure also has Assault .

Thanks for the detailed breakdown.

Man that is gnarly for Chopper

Specifically for System Shock

Edited by Trudem

Ta-daa. System Shock is not an attack, so it can be performed twice. :D

(With Single Purpose )

Edited by a1bert
On 6/20/2017 at 5:58 AM, a1bert said:

Ta-daa. System Shock is not an attack, so it can be performed twice. :D

No? You can only use a special ability once per activation.

Edit: If only I could remember the topic of the thread I was in.

Edited by arnoldrew
32 minutes ago, arnoldrew said:

No? You can only use a special ability once per activation.

Single purpose (which was the main topic of this thread) overrides it

Image result for imperial assault single purpose

23 hours ago, ricope said:

Single purpose (which was the main topic of this thread) overrides it

Image result for imperial assault single purpose

Yep. Whoops.