Additional Attacks and Modifiers

By stet2, in Runewars Rules Questions

Do additional attacks benefit from modifiers.

At present I'm considering two situations:

1) Lord Hawthorne: Suppose Lord Hawthorne dials in an initiative 6 Melee attack with a hit modifier and then uses his ability to attack a second unit. Does the second attack benefit from the Modifier?

2) Dispatch Runner: After making a Melee attack with a modifier as their normal activation a unit is targeted by the Dispatch Runner Upgrade and makes a second Melee Attack. Does this second attack benefit from the same modifier as the first?

My own thinking that Lord Hawthorne's second attack would as it's all part of his activation but that an attack from Dispatch Runner wouldn't as it occurs during someone else's activation.

Thoughts?

Good question.

From the rules reference: "When a unit performs an attack action with an enhance modifier, that unit adds the icon from the enhance modifier to the dice results."

At first I thought: "no, the addtional attacks are not actions, so they don't benefit". But then I read up "Melee Attack":

"Melee attack is an action. To perform a melee attack (?) action, a unit attacks an enemy unit it is engaged with." That seems to mean that all melee attacks are actions.

I would still suspect that the enhance modifier only applies to the one main action, but I am unsure.

I think that neither benefit. Both examples are separate actions from the revealed action on the dial, and from how the rules reference explaining the attack action, you are only performing a modified action on the initial revealed action not any subsequent bonus attacks.

1 hour ago, jek said:

I think that neither benefit. Both examples are separate actions from the revealed action on the dial, and from how the rules reference explaining the attack action, you are only performing a modified action on the initial revealed action not any subsequent bonus attacks.

This is my interpretation as well, the modifier only applies to the original dial action, so Hawthorne's second attack, would be 'naked'.

yeah otherwise you could argue all sorts of shenanigans on different cards

Cool I'd go along with it only applying to the attack dialled in on the Action Dial too.