Vizago makes people confused.

By Luuke C, in X-Wing

Does Vizago allow the player to attach an illicit that could normally not be equipped? like say trade a feedback array for a cloaking device on a jabba trandoshan?

Im not saying its a good idea, just is it legal or illegal and why?

There is nothing in the rules they say you can't per say, but since Cloaking Device says Small Ship Only , I would just assume you cannot put it on a large base ship through any affect.

8 minutes ago, shaunmerritt said:

There is nothing in the rules they say you can't per say, but since Cloaking Device says Small Ship Only , I would just assume you cannot put it on a large base ship through any affect.

There is a HUGE discussion on this on the nova fb page right now, as other rulings have shown that once the squad building portion is complete and you are in game, restrictions no longer apply (such as not losing your EPT when the EPT droid is discarded with integrated astromech, or getting the Tie shuttle title Boba'd wouldn't also discard the crew). If we are to follow this line of thinking, there is no restrictions when "building" with Vizago, and you should be able to strap on any illicit without regard to the restrictions.

Not the way I would probably rule on it as a TO, but if someone tries this at a tourney, don't be surprised if a TO rules in their favor.

Seems to me its 2 different things, though. As is the case with Boba Fett crew or EPT droid, you're removing something that was already applied to the squad legally, and the question is should it effect other cards that were originally legal now that one is removed.

Whereas strapping a "small ship only" upgrade on a large base ship (to me) would be restricted at all times. You're trying to add something that would never be legal to begin with...alas, I will never play with card, so it really doesn't much matter to me lol

This is just like putting the IG title on the TIE/ag. Just don't do it, you idiot. Does FFG really have to FAQ this too?

2 minutes ago, tortugatron said:

This is just like putting the IG title on the TIE/ag. Just don't do it, you idiot. Does FFG really have to FAQ this too?

The only things FFG doesnt have to faq regarding things that common sense should tell you it doesnt work are things that nobody would do anyway because it would be a horrible idea.
This has obvious applications people are bound to abuse if it isnt FAQ'd, even though i highly doubt the ship restrictions magically vanish after you deploy.

43 minutes ago, Vineheart01 said:

The only things FFG doesnt have to faq regarding things that common sense should tell you it doesnt work are things that nobody would do anyway because it would be a horrible idea.
This has obvious applications people are bound to abuse if it isnt FAQ'd, even though i highly doubt the ship restrictions magically vanish after you deploy.

This is o e of those instances where someone says, "well, it doesn't say anywhere in the rules that I can't do it". You slap those kind of people in the face. No TO with at least somewhat of an understanding of the game would allow this. It doesn't even need to be FAQ'd.

Yup. This is where a permissive ruleset is superior.
"Nothing says i cant!"
"Thats the problem. Nothing says you CAN!"

1 hour ago, tortugatron said:

This is just like putting the IG title on the TIE/ag. Just don't do it, you idiot. Does FFG really have to FAQ this too?

25 minutes ago, tortugatron said:

This is o e of those instances where someone says, "well, it doesn't say anywhere in the rules that I can't do it". You slap those kind of people in the face. No TO with at least somewhat of an understanding of the game would allow this. It doesn't even need to be FAQ'd.

Quite a few x-wing players probably also play destiny. In Destiny there's a distinct difference bewteen equipping an upgrade card and swapping or replacing one. Cards that let you swap or move upgrades (such as holocron for villains, or one of the battlefields that moves an upgrade to another character, or redeploy, etc) ignore play restrictions. It doesn' tmatter if a card says it doesn't work on a character if you get it there some way besides just playing it on that character. This is a similar situation to that, you aren't equipping it on your shipw hen you build you're squad, you're replacing a different upgrade during the game.

I'm not saying it should WORK, just explaining one reason people might question it.

2 minutes ago, VanderLegion said:

Quite a few x-wing players probably also play destiny. In Destiny there's a distinct difference bewteen equipping an upgrade card and swapping or replacing one. Cards that let you swap or move upgrades (such as holocron for villains, or one of the battlefields that moves an upgrade to another character, or redeploy, etc) ignore play restrictions. It doesn' tmatter if a card says it doesn't work on a character if you get it there some way besides just playing it on that character. This is a similar situation to that, you aren't equipping it on your shipw hen you build you're squad, you're replacing a different upgrade during the game.

I'm not saying it should WORK, just explaining one reason people might question it.

speaking from a position where I play both Destiny and X-wing, and seeing the way that the rules developers for both games have vastly different ideas on keywords and mechanics I would not make any assumptions whatsoever regarding perceived similar rulings.

The one that gets me the most is that in destiny rolling and rerolling dice are considered exactly the same thing, whereas in x-wing they are clearly not.

Just now, Mace Windu said:

speaking from a position where I play both Destiny and X-wing, and seeing the way that the rules developers for both games have vastly different ideas on keywords and mechanics I would not make any assumptions whatsoever regarding perceived similar rulings.

The one that gets me the most is that in destiny rolling and rerolling dice are considered exactly the same thing, whereas in x-wing they are clearly not.

Again, i'm not saying we SHOULD make assumptions, but they're similar mechanics in games from the same company, so some people might question it as a result.

If Vizago allows you to put a Cloaking Device on a large ship, then Azmorigan allows equipping Rebel only or Imperial only crews. Or multiple Tacticians. Or multiple of the same unique crew. Etc.

Nope.

2 hours ago, Vineheart01 said:

The only things FFG doesnt have to faq regarding things that common sense should tell you it doesnt work are things that nobody would do anyway because it would be a horrible idea.

Common sense was an uncommon virtue. - Chester Nimitz.

1 hour ago, VanderLegion said:

Quite a few x-wing players probably also play destiny. In Destiny there's a distinct difference bewteen equipping an upgrade card and swapping or replacing one. Cards that let you swap or move upgrades (such as holocron for villains, or one of the battlefields that moves an upgrade to another character, or redeploy, etc) ignore play restrictions. It doesn' tmatter if a card says it doesn't work on a character if you get it there some way besides just playing it on that character. This is a similar situation to that, you aren't equipping it on your shipw hen you build you're squad, you're replacing a different upgrade during the game.

I'm not saying it should WORK, just explaining one reason people might question it.

This is exactly what I thought as soon as I saw this thread. Yeah, I don't think X-Wing lets you ignore squad-building rules mid-game like Destiny.

I'll be interested to see if FFG rules otherwise though. Meanwhile, I must return to the Destiny forum and convince everyone that the word "immediately" actually means something in that game...

This is turning into exactly the same discussion from the Nova FB group, with the exact same people making pretty much exactly the same comments.

TL;DR: Go read Nova and see how it ends

Should have made it a Darth Sidious crew card "I will make it legal".

Smells like FAQ!!! :P

10 hours ago, Zazaa said:

Smells like FAQ!!! :P

Yup there's a bunch of stuff from the C-ROC that should be FAQed for clarity or in some cases, for actual functionality (specifically, Jabba doesn't actually work properly as written).

Come on people. The cloaking device says small ship only. So what makes people think they can swap it to a YV. Is it a small ship. It's obvious, it cannot be placed on it.

2 minutes ago, eagletsi111 said:

Come on people. The cloaking device says small ship only. So what makes people think they can swap it to a YV. Is it a small ship. It's obvious, it cannot be placed on it.

I concur personally. But it doesn't answer whether you can use Vizago the to equip a cloaking device when one has already been discarded from another ship in the list, which isn't clear by RAW.

16 hours ago, Ubul said:

If Vizago allows you to put a Cloaking Device on a large ship, then Azmorigan allows equipping Rebel only or Imperial only crews. Or multiple Tacticians. Or multiple of the same unique crew. Etc.

Nope.

Well, you know, it is Scum, which means they are broken-as-**** upgrade cards ;)

Edited by kris40k

This was a point of discussion / argument / debate / s h i t storm at my local gaming club as well as the general belief is that there are restrictions as to what you can "equip" your shipment with during squadron building, however use of Cikatro says "replace" therefore since you are not "equipping" a card, you can break certain limitations such as two EMP devices on a Shadow Caster (four if you have Jabba somewhere!) as well as Asmorgian for two tacticans or potentially even rebel crew. The main sticking point there however is that it says "same type" and you have to assume that Rebel, Imperial and Scum are types, which they officially are not.

No it does not. You cannot break the rules of the game with this card. It doesn't say it overrides restrictions therefore it does not.

9 minutes ago, Toqtamish said:

No it does not. You cannot break the rules of the game with this card. It doesn't say it overrides restrictions therefore it does not.

The restriction is you may not equip two EMP devices, but you ain't, you have equipped one and now you are doing what Cikatro card text says and "replacing" a glitterstim card with a EMP card.

You didn't break any rules, you equipped one and replaced one.

( I agree with you by the way but I lost this argument a month ago and just saying what they said to me. )

That being said, I don't like the idea of:

Sabine Wren
Cikatro Vizago Crew
Glitterstim
Glitterstim

Stygium Particle Accelerator
Shadow Caster title
44 points

Start of the end phase, discard Cikatro for cloaking device.

Sabine now has access to a two speed barrel roll decloak, four agility + evade token + ability (which is essentially another evade) with Glitterstim.

Good luck punching through that.

Edited by Viktus106

BTW, as Viktus noted, Vizago does not allow you to equip an illicit upgrade, but he replaces one card with another. This does mean as well that Jabba does not place his token on the card (that time window is long passed), but I am not sure what would happen to Jabba's token of the card that get replaced.