Greedo vs opportunistic

By SlowComet, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

This is a very specific situation that may never come up again but here goes.

Greedo has line of sight to Vinto and Onar. Greedo declares an attack on Vinto. Vinto shoots first and does damage to Greedo but doesn't kill him then Vinto plays opportunistic and gets out of LoS.

Is Greedo able to attack Onar or is that declared attack on Vinto simply gone? If Greedo can shoot Onar does slow on the draw trigger again?

Thanks for reading.

RRG 15:

Quote

If an interrupt makes the current action or ability invalid, that effect is not resolved. Any costs used to resolve that effect are still paid.

So the attack is gone and so is the action used for it. I'm not certain but I'm pretty sure Greedo is also counted as having spent an action to perform an attack that turn.

That's what I think, too. He has one action remaining but that action cannot be an attack.

When Greedo declares his attack, he also declares a valid target. He cannot declare a new target, and the action has been spent.

However, I'm not sure the attack is cancelled. According to the new rules, the attack is still performed, but it misses . The question arises whether you are still rolling the dice - I don't think you will. Possible Hidden and/or Focused conditions will be discarded.

I was wondering about conditions, too, but since the attack counts as missed I'm leaning toward the idea that they're gone.

Focused and Hidden would be "used", and therefore be discarded.

Here's a similar question I asked Paul a while ago and the answer I got:

1. A focused trandoshan hunter declares an attack on an elite stormtrooper who only has taken 4 damage and is within 3 spaces. The eST's player decides to not negate the surge damage, does the attack still resolve (ie- is the trandoshan still focused)? Are attack / defense dice still rolled?

Once the figure is defeated from “Relentless” the attack ends, so dice are not rolled. However, the attack still “resolved” so the Focus would be discarded.

(Surge=strain from Relentless .)

I'm not completely satisfied with the scope of the answer, because it does not comment on whether the attack steps are still followed. An attack can very well become invalid and thus not resolved from the target being defeated before the dice are rolled. Of course we could expand the rule of "no longer in line of sight, so the attack misses but gets resolved" to "no longer a valid target, so the attack misses but gets resolved", like in the melee attack case.

Inferring from the answer, the steps are not followed. The attack just ends when the figure dies- but is still considered resolved.

Relentless from the Trandoshan and the Green dice from Focused have the same trigger.

Focused is a mission rule, and would be resolved before attacker rules (Relentless).

1) So the Trandoshan declared an attack.

2) Focused adds a green dice to the dice pool.

3) Relentless gives the target of the attack a strain, which in this case would defeat it.

The attack is now ended, but Focused was still triggered so it is discarded.

Trandoshan%20Hunter_595_ffflogog_whaterm Focused_595_ffflogog_whatermark_cc.jpg

Focused has one trigger to add the green die, and another to be discarded. One does not need to imply the other. For example focused adds a green die to both Slow on the Draw and Parting Shot (if Greedo was defeated).

But also, the discard trigger is not strictly "after the attack resolves", but "after you resolve an attack". (There are reasons to believe these are different to keep things organized, but we don't need to open that box in this forum too. Summary: "after attack resolves" should probably be "at the end of an attack" for the best consistency and the least ambiguousness.) So it fits that being able to resolve Relentless guarantees that you resolved an attack.