Assigning damage when only figure upgrades left

By TronMan, in Runewars Rules Questions

Had a scenario pop up in a game today - a block of reanimates went down to only figure upgrades however there was more than one left (drummer and herald). Once there are only figure upgrades left - does the attacker still get to choose where damage is assigned? We assumed the defender chose, thinking you would still need an accuracy to be able to assign it to the model u want. We didn't seem to find anything in the RR that clarified the situation (admittedly we didn't look through it too closely).

Can anyone more knowledgeable advise what's suppose to happen in that scenario? Thanks!

The attacker assigns damage following the rules. (Back rank etc) the only time you need accuracy is to break those assignment rules. Once you are down to one rank you can freely assign damage to the side trays (because you can't split the unit) any figure upgrades in those trays are fair game. Once you are down to 2 figures then they are both fair game.

In short the attacker doesn't need accuracy to hit figure upgrades if he is following normal damage assignment rules. You only need accuracy when breaking those rules.

Once you are down to one rank you don't just have to assign damage to the side trays you can assign it to figures in the centre tray. The only proviso being you can't take the last figure in the centre tray as that would split the unit.

Thanks guys that all makes sense. Dont know how we missed that implication haha!!

13 hours ago, stet2 said:

Once you are down to one rank you don't just have to assign damage to the side trays you can assign it to figures in the centre tray. The only proviso being you can't take the last figure in the centre tray as that would split the unit.

The rule reads that if removing a tray would split the unit, that entire tray is immune to damage.

52 minutes ago, rowdyoctopus said:

The rule reads that if removing a tray would split the unit, that entire tray is immune to damage.

Yeh, this came up in another thread and after reading comments there I agreed that you'd have to take damage to the side trays (unless there was an accuracy result).