Lando's cheat to win vs Tough Luck

By FixB, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi!

Apologies if this has already been asked (and answered) before.

First question: Lando's ability allows him to reroll a dice with another color. So, if let's say he rerolled a black in a white, is the dice now considered already re-rolled (even if, actually, the white dice has only be rolled once)?

If so, I guess the opponent can use Tough Luck on the dice?

But what if the player playing Lando does not let any time his opponent to play Tough Luck and straight after the reroll uses Cheat to Win? How should this situation be ruled??

Thanks!

Lando can replace the die by Gambit only when he's rerolling a die, so the die is considered to be rerolled. Also the Gambit ability text on the deployment card says: "After rolling, the new die is considered rerolled." which should be pretty conclusive.

You can use Tough Luck on the die that Gambit changed during a reroll.

The tournament rules have a section about not rushing to make your opponent lose opportunities.

swi27_lando-calrissian.png

Edited by a1bert

Thanks a1bert!

:Facepalm: about the text being so clear and me asking the question ! :rolleyes:

For Cheat to Win it depends on whether an attack or defense die is being rerolled. If Lando is the attacker, uses Resourceful + Gambit and plays Cheat to Win, the defender can then still play Tough Luck. If Lando is the defender, then Tough Luck must be played or passed, and Cheat to Win can be played after it.

Ability Resolution Order During Attacks

Edited by a1bert

Ok, thanks!

I think in our game, I was going to play tough luck anyway, but didn't get the time as he played Cheat to Win nearly in the same move as he rolled (I honestly had the card already out, but he beat me to it :)). In this case, I imagine I get to play Tough Luck, but he keeps the card Cheat to Win?

If Lando attacked and used Resourceful + Gambit and Cheat to Win to change the die face, that's all done before you have your timing trigger to play Tough Luck. Even if the die face is changed, the die is rerolled, so Tough Luck removes the symbols the die face now shows.

There was no timing conflict resolution errors, so all cards remain played.

Ok, thanks!!

On 2017-6-10 at 4:25 PM, a1bert said:

For Cheat to Win it depends on whether an attack or defense die is being rerolled. If Lando is the attacker, uses Resourceful + Gambit and plays Cheat to Win, the defender can then still play Tough Luck. If Lando is the defender, then Tough Luck must be played or passed, and Cheat to Win can be played after it.

Ability Resolution Order During Attacks

Hi a1bert, maybe I'm a bit picky here, but just to make sure I understand: does the attacker have to play his re-roll cc (Tough Luck, Cheat to Win, etc.) before the defender? Or do both player have to play cc modifying attack dice first, then defense dice?

I think I'm confused with the following from the ability resolution order linked:

3.Rerolls
* Mission/Core Rules
* Attacker

...

- Tough Luck cc can remove the results of a rerolled attack die.

The attacker is more likely to remove defense die isn't he?

Edited by FixB

There are no separate steps for attack and defense dice. Attack and defense dice are all rolled at the same time.

Dice are rerolled in the order the abilities are performed. Attacker's reroll abilities are performed first, whether they affect attack or defense dice.

Tough Luck can be played on both an attack and defense die, so it's listed twice. (Edit: 4 times now. The attacker can cause a defense die to be rerolled, and although there is no such ability yet, the defender could cause an attack die reroll. - Actually, Reinforced Helmet allows it in the campaign.) Tough Luck's trigger is the reroll itself, not the reroll step, so it does not follow the mission/attacker/defender timing (unless more than one player tries to play Tough Luck at the same time, but that would happen only with free-for-all).

Edited by a1bert

Thanks, it makes sense! I assumed the use of card would be linked to the same as dice rerolls, but your explanation (the re-roll being the trigger, whenever it happens) makes more sense!

Thanks :)