Tractor Beam - do you have to move ship?

By cmaka74, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Question came up last night about the wording of Tractor Beam:

The first time a small ship receives a tractor be token each round, the opposing player may choose one of the following options:

The question is around the word "may". Does that mean that I can choose not to boost/barrel roll the ship? I read it as being optional, others disagree and say you are required to boost or barrel roll the ship (unless it cannot due to blocking). I've looked online and haven't found a consensus answer, so I'm hoping to get a definitive ruling before Store Championships.

Thanks.

IMG_2487.PNG

No you don't.

'may choose' being the key phrase.

It's worth noting that the G1A Starfighter was published with a slightly different reference card, which was errated to the one in the post above. Make sure you're referring to the correct one.

TO here,

thespaceinvader is correct, if the card said, "You must choose..." then you would have to make them barrel roll or boost. Bare in mind that if you manage to tractor that ship again or if they get another token from another affect, they cannot be forced to do barrel roll or boost.

so I can hit them with the beam, and not move them and still drop their agility? Sweet.

3 hours ago, PanchoX1 said:

so I can hit them with the beam, and not move them and still drop their agility? Sweet.

Their agility is reduced for EACH tractor beam token, but you only have the option to boost/barrel roll when the FIRST token is assigned. And that's only when you tractor a Small ship.

On Friday, June 09, 2017 at 11:42 AM, shaunmerritt said:

TO here,

thespaceinvader is correct, if the card said, "You must choose..." then you would have to make them barrel roll or boost. Bare in mind that if you manage to tractor that ship again or if they get another token from another affect, they cannot be forced to do barrel roll or boost.

Just a small point, cards rarely ever say "you must" do something. They just won't include "you may".

A good rule of thumb in X-Wing OP is that if a card includes the word "may" the effect is optional, otherwise it is not.

I got a bit confused with all those "opposing player" referneces.

Does it mean that:

- my blue ship hits another opposing red ship with tractor beam.

- I who tractored may choose to have the opposing red ship to b-roll or boost or the opposing red player chooses to?

Edited by SOLAR FLARE

Th opponent of the ship receiving the token chooses the movement. Except with spacetug giving tokens to friendly ships. It's not written anywhere near as clearly as it should be.

Edited by thespaceinvader

So I hit a ship with TB and I choose if it has to b-roll or boost, but its "owner" chooses the direction right?

No.

You are the opponent of the ship receiving the token, you choose.

Oh, so I choose both?!

Yes.

Thats great thx. Sry for hijacking this thread.

On 7/14/2017 at 4:22 AM, sharrrp said:

Just a small point, cards rarely ever say "you must" do something. They just won't include "you may".

A good rule of thumb in X-Wing OP is that if a card includes the word "may" the effect is optional, otherwise it is not.

Actually, quite a few cards seem to have it. More than i thought anyway . What i have noted, is when they do say "must" they typically seem to Bold "must" to make sure you see it if it could be a harmful effect.

latest?cb=20160902152050 latest?cb=20140811230232 latest?cb=20130708225422 180?cb=20170530205851 latest?cb=20160113072001 latest?cb=20130427142414 latest?cb=20170123154858 latest?cb=20170310173740 latest?cb=20150727202448

latest?cb=20161122153414 latest?cb=20140506121808

Good example of both may and must in one ability.

latest?cb=20130427170633

Just felt like posting as many as i could find :)

Remember, if you hit them multiple times, only the first shot gets the option to Boost or Barrel Roll the ship. So if you choose not to do it, you basically pass on doing it for the rest of the round.

This came up yesterday, I flew my Ketsu into opponent's Fenn path, after tractored he proceeded to argue that I needed to BR his guy. He was very salty after I TLT and Feedbacked his Fenn before he got to shoot.