Azmorrigan + Swap Gunner for Jabba

By Erion_Fett, in X-Wing

I have a question regarding azmorrigan:
swx58-azmorigan.png

Ok, let's we say that I have a C-ROC with "Merchant One" Title, so I have 3 Crew Slots. In one I have Azmorigan, in other one I have Gunner, and in the last one I have Zuckuss, for example.

Can I swap Gunner for Jabba?

I mean... Reading Azmorigan, nothing says that you can't, huh? because is a <Crew> Upgrade card. Or jabba is a <Crew><Crew> Upgrade Card?

And, in the case you can, you can Swap Gunner for Jabba, and using only one <Crew> Slot for Jabba. Or you have to have an empty <Crew> Slot in order to swap those two?

Needs FAQ. But tbh... why wouldn't you just bring Jabba in the first place and pay two points less?

11 minutes ago, Erion_Fett said:

Jabba is a <Crew><Crew> Upgrade Card

This is why you can't.

Another question: Why does Azmorrigan look like a Vogan from Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy?

35 minutes ago, Stevey86 said:

This is why you can't.

But isn't it a restriction to Squadron build? In the middle of the game, no such things are taken into account. Proof is if Boba Fett makes you discard , for instance, the Royal Guard title, you can keep both Modification upgrade cards.

What about Unique cards? RRG states that you can't field two cards with the same unique name. Does "field" mean at the setup? Or at any moment of the game?

Just to make it clear: I don't think this should work. Just pointing that it needs clarification.

2 minutes ago, Willy Jarque said:

But isn't it a restriction to Squadron build? In the middle of the game, no such things are taken into account. Proof is if Boba Fett makes you discard , for instance, the Royal Guard title, you can keep both Modification upgrade cards.

What about Unique cards? RRG states that you can't field two cards with the same unique name. Does "field" mean at the setup? Or at any moment of the game?

Just to make it clear: I don't think this should work. Just pointing that it needs clarification.

Azmorrigan says you can replace a crew card. Jabba is a double crew card. They're not the same thing.

I've had this discussion quite a bit within my game group, here is the jist:

"Not only does it not work because you are replacing a single crew with a double crew, Jabba specifically says "when you equip this card," Azmorgan doesn't make you "equip" a card, you replace it.

So even if you managed to get Jabba on board, his effect wouldn't trigger.

Same with Cikatro, you can use him to replace Glitterstim with EMP Device, even if the EMP device is already equipped either by the Shadow Caster itself (two illicit slots) or another ship, you are not equipping it, you are simply replacing a card with it.

Edited by Viktus106
Removed Cikatro and Modifications as its a cargo symbol.
2 minutes ago, Viktus106 said:

Also, there is the possibility of a HWK starting with Cikatro and Stealth Device, then using Cikatro to replace the SD with Countermeasures despite it being large ship only."

No there isn't, Cikatro doesn't work on mods.

2 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

No there isn't, Cikatro doesn't work on mods.

But you can equip Cikatro, Cloaking Device and Pulsed Ray Shield.

Then swap out the Cloak for Feedback Array. :P

5 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

No there isn't, Cikatro doesn't work on mods.

That's true, its a cargo symbol, not a modification symbol.

47 minutes ago, Stevey86 said:

Azmorrigan says you can replace a crew card. Jabba is a double crew card. They're not the same thing.

There is nothing such a "double crew card".

If Emperor Palpatine is, per the FAQ, "a crew upgrade card", what makes you think Jabba isn't?

13 minutes ago, Willy Jarque said:

There is nothing such a "double crew card".

If Emperor Palpatine is, per the FAQ, "a crew upgrade card", what makes you think Jabba isn't?

My point was that the Azmorrigan card depicts a single crew upgrade icon. The Jabba card, taking up 2 crew slots, has 2 crew upgrade icons.

The 2 do not match, therefore Jabba does not meet the requirements to be swapped in via Azmorrigan.

At first I thought that it was possible if you have 2 free Crew Slots (For example: Azmorrigan + Gunner + Free <Crew>). You remove Gunner and put Jabba in those two <Crew> free slots, but now I am wondering if it is not possible at all.

Also, as Viktus106 said:

39 minutes ago, Viktus106 said:

I've had this discussion quite a bit within my game group, here is the jist:

"Not only does it not work because you are replacing a single crew with a double crew, Jabba specifically says "when you equip this card," Azmorgan doesn't make you "equip" a card, you replace it.

So even if you managed to get Jabba on board, his effect wouldn't trigger.

Same with Cikatro, you can use him to replace Glitterstim with EMP Device, even if the EMP device is already equipped either by the Shadow Caster itself (two illicit slots) or another ship, you are not equipping it, you are simply replacing a card with it.

I think that, despite it is not written, you ARE equiping Jabba, but I guess that's one example of "Rules as Written" VS "Rules as Intended".

Anyway, I think that If I play epic, I'd probably start the game with Jabba and Azmorrigan, use the Ilicit tokens and then changing Jabba to Dengar, Zuckuss or something like that.

11 minutes ago, Stevey86 said:

My point was that the Azmorrigan card depicts a single crew upgrade icon. The Jabba card, taking up 2 crew slots, has 2 crew upgrade icons.

The 2 do not match, therefore Jabba does not meet the requirements to be swapped in via Azmorrigan.

I don't think I agree with that. Azmorrigan depicts a crew upgrade card. The icon stands for the type of upgrade card (as says in the card: "another Upgrade card of the same type").

Even if it doesn't, the icon applies to the card replaced, not Jabba.

That being said, it is not useless to do this, if the ship Jabba was in has been destroyed and you didn't use some of your illicit tokens.

8 hours ago, Erion_Fett said:

I have a question regarding azmorrigan:
swx58-azmorigan.png

Ok, let's we say that I have a C-ROC with "Merchant One" Title, so I have 3 Crew Slots. In one I have Azmorigan, in other one I have Gunner, and in the last one I have Zuckuss, for example.

Can I swap Gunner for Jabba?

I mean... Reading Azmorigan, nothing says that you can't, huh? because is a <Crew> Upgrade card. Or jabba is a <Crew><Crew> Upgrade Card?

And, in the case you can, you can Swap Gunner for Jabba, and using only one <Crew> Slot for Jabba. Or you have to have an empty <Crew> Slot in order to swap those two?

Answer is in your picture - "Upgrade card of the same type" - type is either single crew slot or double crew slot.

42 minutes ago, Ynot said:

Answer is in your picture - "Upgrade card of the same type" - type is either single crew slot or double crew slot.

Now, please direct us to where in the rules "double crew slot" is considered a card type.

I've not seen it, so I'm interested. It will certainly shut down this question pretty quickly.

Of course, if it doesn't exist, and we find that "Crew" is the type, then yes, it seems to work just fine. I'd say that's RAW vs RAI, but that only matters until it hits the FAQ.

(and the second icon is a "Team" upgrade, it has nothing to do with the "Crew" upgrade)

Edited by ArbitraryNerd
4 minutes ago, ArbitraryNerd said:

Now, please direct us to where in the rules "double crew slot" is considered a card type.

I've not seen it, so I'm interested. It will certainly shut down this question pretty quickly.

Of course, if it doesn't exist, and we find that "Crew" is the type, then yes, it seems to work just fine. I'd say that's RAW vs RAI, but that only matters until it hits the FAQ.

(and the second icon is a "Team" upgrade, it has nothing to do with the "Crew" upgrade)

Mentioning type would be redundant if there were no difference since Azmorigan is only for crew cards.

Emperor Palpatine is a double crew card. The picture is what shows this.

9 minutes ago, ArbitraryNerd said:

Now, please direct us to where in the rules "double crew slot" is considered a card type.

I've not seen it, so I'm interested. It will certainly shut down this question pretty quickly.

Of course, if it doesn't exist, and we find that "Crew" is the type, then yes, it seems to work just fine. I'd say that's RAW vs RAI, but that only matters until it hits the FAQ.

(and the second icon is a "Team" upgrade, it has nothing to do with the "Crew" upgrade)

I thought the second icon was showing double crew - sorry - my bad. You would be correct that it would need an FAQ as folks will challenge it.

For everyone here who is saying that you can't put Jabba into the single crew slot because he's a "double crew" card, wouldn't that mean you couldn't replace him with someone else because they're not a double crew? Yet in the CROC preview they said that doing so was possible.

Edited by DarmanSkir
9 minutes ago, DarmanSkir said:

Yet in the CROC preview...

Do you see your mistake? ;)

Considering this is a huge ship only upgrade card I don't expect a FAQ explaining it to come out very soon.

9 hours ago, Dr Zoidberg said:

Another question: Why does Azmorrigan look like a Vogan from Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy?

He's based on concept art for Jabba.

mcquarrie-jabba-600x458.jpg?itok=asEOYLH

2 minutes ago, RogueLieutenant said:

He's based on concept art for Jabba.

mcquarrie-jabba-600x458.jpg?itok=asEOYLH

That just makes him throwing jabba out the airlock for someone else even funnier now :P

50 minutes ago, Stevey86 said:

Do you see your mistake? ;)

I laughed out loud at this.