Pulling a charging enemy into harmful terrain?

By eilif, in Runewars Rules Questions

Myself and the fellow I gamed against last week had this question.

Is it possible to position your unit partway behind the spikes so that when it is charged (assuming the charge comes from the front'ish area) the necessary squaring up pulls the charging unit into the spikes? Or am I reading the rules wrong?

If so, is there some way for the charging unit to avoid this?

No. Rule 77 deals with squaring up in situations where obstacles are involved giving a couple of methods on doing so (depending on whether the charging unit contacts the edge or the corner of the defending unit). If neither of these methods work and the units can't square up due to the obstacle/terrain then the 2 units are left in the position they collided but are treated as engaged as if they had been able to square up.

The only way you can force an enemy unit to collide with spikes is by using the "Flee in Terror" morale result.

Thanks!

On 6/4/2017 at 3:16 PM, Tvayumat said:

The only way you can force an enemy unit to collide with spikes is by using the "Flee in Terror" morale result.

@eilif you can also position your self in such a way that they collide with the spikes instead of you.