2 quick questions (IG88 and Jet Troopers)

By JarJarBot, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

1. If someone declares an attack with IG88 and decides to use RRG for the attack and the opposing character uses Camoflauge to become Hidden can the IG player change his attack die?

2. If an eJet Trooper moves 1-3 spaces to enter within 2 spaces of a figure to get the extra blue die and 2 movement points, can he use the 2 movement points then whatever movement points he had left from using the move action afterwards?

Ex; moves 2 spaces, attacks a figure within 2 spaces, throws extra blue die then gains 2 movement points, moves the 2 spaces then uses his remaining 2 from his move action to move 2 more.

Thanks guys.

3 hours ago, JarJarBot said:

1. If someone declares an attack with IG88 and decides to use RRG for the attack and the opposing character uses Camoflauge to become Hidden can the IG player change his attack die?

Note the exact wording on Camouflage: Use when an attack targeting you is declared. You become hidden

Hence Camouflage must be used in step 1 of the attack, before the dice are even selected & rolled by the IG player, which happens in step 2 of the attack

So no I'd say this is an illegal situation: you either cannot play Camouflage after IG has picked RR, or, if your opponent is being reasonable, he may change his attack dice (and permit you to go back to step 1). I think it's perfectly legal though for the IG player to say "Nope I've already picked RR, we're in step 2, you cannot play camouflage"

Note: There could be arguments on which step (out of 7) do you pick your dice on those "Pick your attack dice" figures like IG-88 or General Weiss. I'm fairly certain it's 2/7 "Roll dice" but I can see it being argued to happen in step 1/7 too because you don't really have a "default" attack pool

3 hours ago, JarJarBot said:

2. If an eJet Trooper moves 1-3 spaces to enter within 2 spaces of a figure to get the extra blue die and 2 movement points, can he use the 2 movement points then whatever movement points he had left from using the move action afterwards?

Yes, assuming it is eJet's activation, the extra 2MP goes into eJet's pool and can be spent whenever. Fly-By is not a special action. Move 2 -> shoot (w/ fly-by) -> move 4 is perfectly legal. Just remember MPs gained outside figure's activation must be spent immediately or it's lost (ex. eImpOfficer exec order eJet to shoot)

I seem to agree about Arsenal and Epic Arsenal being just before rolling the dice, because they affect the dice rolled. See https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1631857/ability-resolution-order-during-attacks for the rules in question and the timing.

A Move action does not move the figure, spending movement points moves the figure. Move action allows to perform a move, which gives the figure movement points according to Speed. During a figure's activation those movement points go to a movement point pool, and can be spent before or after an action during the activation, but not during an action. Fly-By puts the movement points into the movement point pool, and they can be spent after the attack and all abilities triggering from the attack has been performed, and the Attack action ends.

Thanks guys and one more I thought of. If the attacker and defender both have the ability to reroll the same die (ex. I'm using vader and my opponent is shooting me with a HK) which reroll is used first? Vaders foresight or HK making me reroll a die?

Mission rules, attacker abilities, defender abilities. (It's all in the thread I linked. It also lists all of the abilities - well, need to add wave 9.)

HK Assassin Droid (attacker) would decide on his reroll abilities first. If Versatile Weaponry is used, Vader would not be able to reroll the same die again during that attack.

Edited by a1bert