TF Antilles: once per attack?

By Ardaedhel, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

swm27-task-force-antilles.png

The trigger is "when you suffer damage from an attack," not "while defending" as has previously been the formal language for "once per attack." Does this mean that, because damage is suffered one at a time, you can use multiple of these, each being triggered by a separate point of damage?

Relevant:

• When a ship suffers damage, it suffers that damage one point at a time.

On the one hand, the RRG terminology seems to suggest that "suffering damage" is one single event, which would mean TFA is only triggered once per attack.

On the other hand, if you're suffering that damage one point at a time, it could be interpreted that each of those points is a new instance of "suffering damage".

From a RAI perspective, neither seems particularly unreasonable. It's limited by range 1-3; you can only use it up to (number of TFA ships) - 1 times for any given ship; you're foregoing the other awesome titles for it; and the damage is not being prevented, just moved around. On the other hand, it's also cheap as chips, and Bright Hope has already demonstrated the power of removing 1 damage from an attack.

I'm leaning toward the once per attack interpretation myself. What do you guys think?

I think that it works once per attack. But I am not all in with my interpretation.

However where is the sense of 1 damage if it actually works once per each 1 damage?

An interesting mini-boost to Major Derlin. Exhaust-Move-Reduce-Abuse!

Note: I am not English so sorry if the rhyme is not good. Repeat clearly doesn't :D

I do not believe that they stack. FFFG writers strike again...What did I tell you guys, they have to plan this ****!! :P

latest?cb=20161025204220


If Hammerheads stack... Then the Glorious Moustached God of Cheese Stacks.

Let's not do that :D

If this turns around and we've all been playing Biggs *wrong* by only letting him apply once per attack - taking him from this point on is going to end up a Lynchable offense... :/

TF Antilles Do not stack...

But I do think that VSD front arcs are now 4 Red, 4 blue.

With Spinals and a Concentrate Fire, they are :D

12 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

With Spinals and a Concentrate Fire, they are :D

That was no VSD2...That is a VSD1... :)

Seriously though after re-reading the article, I think...

Biggs is worded as TOTAL damage. I'm cool with inferring that he can only reduce it by one TOTAL.

Yes, I feel moreso that Biggs has that as an inbuilt restriction.

TF Antilles and shields to maximum. Hmmm

Edited by ovinomanc3r

Actually there is a funny difference between Biggs and TF Antilles: the moved damage is indeed moved. So you can trigger it on the receiving ship to move it again and again until all your task force titles are exhausted.

@BiggsIRL we have a new achievement here.

Trilero (I don't know the English equivalent): to move a damage point along the entire fleet ending on the initial ship.

trilero.jpg

I see it as a true/false sorta thing. Am I suffering damage? Exhaust one. Am I still suffering damage after the first? Exhaust another.

As much as I am a Biggs fan, and want him to be AMAZING and IMBALANCED in ways that defy common sense and logic...

I am of the opinion that Task Force - A is stackable, and Biggs is not.

Quote

Then the attacker determines the total damage amount.
Then the defending squadron or hull zone suffers that total damage, one point at a time.

Biggs works against the Total Damage Amount, which is calculated once, and first. The key word here is BEFORE you suffer damage. Thus he is only able to be used once.

Task Force Antilles does not specify Total Damage, and the key word used is WHEN . So each time you suffer damage (one point at a time) is a new instance to trigger the card.

This is why the other wording is like it is. Because Biggs works in the Total Damage Amount sub-step, he has to REDUCE the damage and then force another squadron to SUFFER new damage, instead of just moving the damage around. Because Task Force Antilles works in the Suffer Damage sub-step, it does not REDUCE then SUFFER, but SUFFER INSTEAD.

Guys....it doesn't stack....

Just now, JJs Juggernaut said:

Guys....it doesn't stack....

Why?

3 minutes ago, TallGiraffe said:

Why?

I have a suspicion that JJ probably has a better idea than the intent of this card than we do, for reasons that he probably cannot discuss here.

That said, the language of the rules interactions makes this ambiguous with or without his input. I have added this thread to the "Known Unknowns" wave 6 FAQ thread.

So the article specifically says you can shunt 3 damage off the ship by activating 3 TFA cards but you are saying it doesn't work that way?

1 minute ago, ripper998 said:

So the article specifically says you can shunt 3 damage off the ship by activating 3 TFA cards but you are saying it doesn't work that way?

That's part and parcel of Articles.

As a reminder: The MC30 article had Foresight spending Both Evades at the same time to remove 4 enemy dice from the field.

As Ludicrous as it sounds - It happens .

Often in flagrant breaches of the base rules.

3 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

That's part and parcel of Articles.

As a reminder: The MC30 article had Foresight spending Both Evades at the same time to remove 4 enemy dice from the field.

As Ludicrous as it sounds - It happens .

Often in flagrant breaches of the base rules.

I wasn't around for that article but when I look at it now it only shows two dice removed. Did they change it? Maybe this will be updated then to clear up the confusion?

Just now, ripper998 said:

I wasn't around for that article but when I look at it now it only shows two dice removed. Did they change it? Maybe this will be updated then to clear up the confusion?

They did indeed change it... I challenged someone to find the post the other day, adn they did - let me see if I can find it now and link it to show.

No I believe you. Just hoping for a quicker resolution than 6 months waiting on a FAQ. We have store championships happening!

Just now, ripper998 said:

No I believe you. Just hoping for a quicker resolution than 6 months waiting on a FAQ. We have store championships happening!

Well, I did find it :D

swm12_longrangecombatdiagram.jpg

And I have this crazy theory FFG article writers (who have nothing to do with the design teams really), make these errors on purpose to mess with us....but I'm paranoid like that. :huh:

Edited by JJs Juggernaut
3 hours ago, BiggsIRL said:

Task Force Antilles does not specify Total Damage, and the key word used is WHEN . So each time you suffer damage (one point at a time) is a new instance to trigger the card.

This is my interpretation of it. It has "when" as a key word so it can only be triggered once.

It's a weird mechanic on the card, because instead of you, the ship, doing something, it's another friendly ship taking the action in a sense. Furthermore, the ship needs to be equipped with this upgrade in order for it to work. It says "When you", which means the ship it's equipped too. Toss in the "when" rules and there you have it.

Hopefully that makes sense.

Also, would this prevent APT? I would say no since you don't suffer damage, but rather dealt a face up damage card. Or does dealing a face up from the attack fall into "suffer damage" as a key word that can then be manipulated?

3 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

Also, would this prevent APT? I would say no since you don't suffer damage, but rather dealt a face up damage card. Or does dealing a face up from the attack fall into "suffer damage" as a key word that can then be manipulated?

Buggered if I know

But according to the FAQ, the damage card from APT does qualify as the "First Damage Card Dealt by this Attack."

So although it happens before the "Suffer Damage" step, which perhaps is the qualifying state, it does count as Damage by the attack, for example.