Hi everyone, so the following instance have given me quite a bit of headache
Lets say a unit of Oathsworn Cavalry Charge into an unoccupied forest. Collided with that forest is a unit of reanimates. Following the rules here are the parts that discuss this matter.
81.2 After the unit resolves all effects of entering the terrain,
its activation immediately ends. If it had a bonus action or
other game effects to perform, these are canceled.
81.8 When a unit enters a piece of terrain that an enemy is
touching, those units resolve any effects of a collision as if
the unit had collided with the enemy.
So which of the following effects happen.
1) Reanimates get a panic token due to Impact.
2) The Oathsworn Cavalry get to attack
3) The Oathsworn Cavalry get a panic token due to a failed charge.
And what about if the Oathsworn Cavalry do a regular move.
4) Do they then get a panic token for colliding with an enemy unit without a charge?
Other mechanics might be in the game which could fall under this category of "what happens, what does not" these are just the ones discuseed in our playthrough
Charging into unoccupied Terrain
If they charge and occupy the terrain then 1 and 2 happen but not 3. If they do a regular move and enter the terrain then the Cavalry do indeed take a panic token.
If that is the case, then what effects does the 81.2 quote stop? I would guess things like having a movement action on your modifier dial would be stopped. The same with a rally or any other action modifier.
Again correct. For example Oathsworn Cavalry that moved into terrain wouldn't be able to use their [March 2] Modifier to move straight through it.
So even though the attack of the charge is described as an action and therefore could be described as a bonus action and thereby removed from the order by rules of 81.2 the 81.8 overwrites that specific example i guess? Asking this much because in the Danish Facebook forum for Runewars Miniatures Game the guys debating my question were answering that the attack did not go through. Therefore i want to be absolutely sure (have asked FFG directly as well, but that might take some time)
Bonus actions are cancelled after resolving all effects of the entering the terrain, including collision with enemy units. The charge attack is an effect of the collision, so it is not cancelled.
On 6/1/2017 at 9:54 AM, Drakthal said:So even though the attack of the charge is described as an action and therefore could be described as a bonus action and thereby removed from the order by rules of 81.2 the 81.8 overwrites that specific example i guess? Asking this much because in the Danish Facebook forum for Runewars Miniatures Game the guys debating my question were answering that the attack did not go through. Therefore i want to be absolutely sure (have asked FFG directly as well, but that might take some time)
Also Charge is a modifier to a movement action, the attack in the charge is in no way a bonus action. Bonus action are specifically any actions appearing on the modifier dial...
14 Bonus Actions ? ?... A bonus action is a modifier that appears on some modifier dials. Bonus actions use the same icons as actions.
14.1 After a unit performs its selected action, that unit performs its selected bonus action.
14.2 A unit can perform its bonus action even if its first action was canceled.