miss a turn?

By ososober, in Talisman Rules Questions

i land on the tavern, that has the carnival card on it, and another player, i choose to encounter the space and not the other player,

i visit the carnival first, roll a 1 (miss a turn) now my turn finished and counts as the missed turn as i still had to encounter the tavern? so i dont miss my next turn?

or my turn ends and i miss my next turn?

ososober said:

i land on the tavern, that has the carnival card on it, and another player, i choose to encounter the space and not the other player,

i visit the carnival first, roll a 1 (miss a turn) now my turn finished and counts as the missed turn as i still had to encounter the tavern? so i dont miss my next turn?

or my turn ends and i miss my next turn?

Your turn ends and you miss your next turn. Had there been another Place at the Tavern (via Displacement I suppose it could happen) that you would have encountered after Carnival, then you would've only missed the rest of this turn.

as the carnival moves around the board it is quite possible for it to be on the tavern .

ososober said:

as the carnival moves around the board it is quite possible for it to be on the tavern .

I know. But getting another Place card (encounter #6 just as Carnival) at the Tavern is a bit trickier. If you put an encounter with a # 1-5 on Tavern, that comes before Carnival, so won't help you with missing your next turn.

Dam said:

ososober said:

i land on the tavern, that has the carnival card on it, and another player, i choose to encounter the space and not the other player,

i visit the carnival first, roll a 1 (miss a turn) now my turn finished and counts as the missed turn as i still had to encounter the tavern? so i dont miss my next turn?

or my turn ends and i miss my next turn?

Your turn ends and you miss your next turn. Had there been another Place at the Tavern (via Displacement I suppose it could happen) that you would have encountered after Carnival, then you would've only missed the rest of this turn.

Hey Dam,

He should still encounter the Tavern too, after being drunk from the Carnaval, because the Tavern is not a card.

You have said it yourself month's ago...

Are you referring to this thread?

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

If so, I can't see where I say you still encounter the space if your turn ends. You say that in the thread, but then take it back upon further reading of the rule quote I posted. Miss 1 turn ends your current turn and depending on whether you still have more cards to encounter (cards count, board spaces don't), you also miss this turn or your next turn as well.

Dam said:

Are you referring to this thread?

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

If so, I can't see where I say you still encounter the space if your turn ends. You say that in the thread, but then take it back upon further reading of the rule quote I posted. Miss 1 turn ends your current turn and depending on whether you still have more cards to encounter (cards count, board spaces don't), you also miss this turn or your next turn as well.

Yes, it's that thread..

I mean, you posted the losing a turn rule from the rule book.

From what i understand of that rule, If the character must miss a turn and there are other cards to be encountered, his turn ends.

But the space itself is not a card. So i should say that a character must still encounter the space, and he miss his next turn..

-

So if someone lands on the Tavern, and there is also a carnival card, and he become drunk, then he should encounter the Tavern too, because the turn ends only immediately if the next encounter is a card..

This is how i understand the losing a turn rule..

No, read the rule quote again. If you get a "miss your next turn", you current turn ends at that point, period.

"Any instructions that result in the loss of a turn by the character
encountering them ends the character’s turn immediately." (p. 16)

Then, if you had still more cards to encounter, you would only miss the rest of that turn. But if no cards there to encounter, miss next turn (in addition to current turn ending).

"This counts as a missed turn for that character if there
are other cards to be encountered; otherwise, he misses his
next turn instead." (p. 16)

Dam said:

No, read the rule quote again. If you get a "miss your next turn", you current turn ends at that point, period.

"Any instructions that result in the loss of a turn by the character
encountering them ends the character’s turn immediately." (p. 16)

Then, if you had still more cards to encounter, you would only miss the rest of that turn. But if no cards there to encounter, miss next turn (in addition to current turn ending).

"This counts as a missed turn for that character if there
are other cards to be encountered; otherwise, he misses his
next turn instead." (p. 16)

You are right.

I have always ignore the first sentence, because i did not understand what they mean compare to the other two sentence

I felt they where only talking about cards, how the miss a turn works..

The second sentence is the best explaining part, while in the third sentence, they repeat it again with other words.

I understand it now.

Thanks Dam gui%C3%B1o.gif