Fire Question?

By Drjacobs, in Mansions of Madness

A Kerosene Lantern was dropped causing a fire in the Mythos Phase. A monster was then instructed to move into my space with the fire and Attack both investigators in that space. So I assume the monster gets -1 damage for moving into the space, but does the monster also get an additional -1 damage for each attack? It attacked 2 investigators, which means by the time this 1 turn was over the monster accumulated -3 damage (-1 for moving into the fire, and -1 damage for each attack). It this correct?

Also, the app instructed me to "drop" the Kerosene Lantern card, not discard it after the fire was set. Does this mean I can pick this card back up? It seems like you shouldn't be able to, but that is how it was worded.

As far as I remember (should be verifiable from the rulebook), monsters take damage from fire if starting in or moving into a space with fire. Monsters don't have actions, so do not take damage from fire when attacking.

If the Lantern was dropped, you can Trade to pick it up. Think of it just spilling kerosene to the floor and igniting, not gotten broken per se.

LTP, Fire said:

Whenever a monster starts its activation in a space containing Fire
or moves into a space containing Fire, it suffers one damage.

Edited by a1bert

Ok, that makes sense. I forgot to mention that after the fire was set it had spread fire to an adjacent space where the monster was located. In that same Mythos phase the monster moved from a space with fire to another space with fire to attack me. Does that mean that monster would suffer -2 damage, or does the monster moving initially not count, and just count -1 damage for going in a space with fire since it was all in one phase?

The only way it is worded in both the LtP and RR is:

Whenever a monster starts its activation in a space containing Fire or moves into a space containing Fire, it suffers one damage.

So I don't know if it gets multiple hits per activation. The way I interpret the text is that if it does this or that it suffers one damage. It doesn't state that it suffers one damage per. I've honestly never had a game where this has come up though.

As LordPyrex said, rules are pretty clear on this: monsters get a damage when they activate in a space containing Fire, or move into a space containing Fire. The activation of a monster is a very specific step in the Mythos phase: the app gives specific instructions on what to do with that monster. When you start resolving what the monster's about to do, you activate it. Then, he can attack 257 times in that Mythos phase (well, let's hope not :D), but still, it's activated only once .

The rule says whenever , so I would give it one damage for activating in a space with fire, and one for moving into a space with fire. It's an inclusive or.

If you are sure it's meant to be different, then I will remove my objection. ;D

59 minutes ago, a1bert said:

The rule says whenever , so I would give it one damage for activating in a space with fire, and one for moving into a space with fire. It's an inclusive or.

If you are sure it's meant to be different, then I will remove my objection. ;D

Nobody said any differently. It's 1 point for starting the monster's turn in the fire, and 1 point for every space with fire the monster moves into.

Exactly. I was objecting to the point that a single monster can be activated more than once per Mythos phase. It's certainly one for activating, and one for moving, but it really doesn't matter how many times the monster attack (it can very well attack exactly zero, but this doesn't mean it hadn't been activated)

Actually, that's up to the app - there is no game rule that says so. A monster could activate multiple times during one mythos phase. If that were the case, it would take damage for every activation in a space on fire.