I realize that according to the FAQ characters don't automatically start with the equipment written under Typical Trappings. However, in the case of the apprentice wizard, the text seems to strongly imply that the wizard starts with the equipment listed there: "An apprentice wizard is given a talismanic item by his master"; "he wears the robes of his College"; "he carries a letter from his master".
So is the apprentice wizard an exception to the general rule mentioned in the FAQ?
Also as a side question, I don't think it's written anywhere in the rulebook, but I assume characters can spend their starting wealth to purchase equipment (at least Abundant and Common one), right?