New Player Questions

By HistoryGuy, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I now have about half a game under my belt (we just played till we had more questions than answers). I have a few questions now mostly surrounding Gaarkhan.

Does his Charge ability allow him to attack twice?

And does he already have to be activated to use his first ability?

Edited by HistoryGuy

Campaign or Skirmish?

In Skirmish, Charge is a special action containing an attack. A non-hero (everyone in skirmish) can only perform one action that contains one or more attacks. If he already resolved Charge and performed an attack from it, Gaarkhan cannot spend his other action for anything containing an attack. If he already performed an action containing an attack, he cannot perform the attack during Charge.

Edit: If he's Enraged, then there is no attack limitation.

Edited by a1bert

I should have specified. All my questions involve skirmish.

Does Gaarkhan have to already be activated to use his first ability?

Enrage when Gaarkhan has suffered damage means the same as Assault. It removes the attack-action limitation. It does not allow to perform attacks for free.

If Gaarkhan has suffered damage, Enrage is active, and Gaarkhan can perform attacks with both of his actions.

So he still has to have the actions to take to attack multiple times?

Yes. Enraged does not allow to perform attacks in itself.

Got it. Now our next question was on cards that have multiple units. When the card is activated, can each unit attack or just one unit per card?

When you activate a group (group activation), you activate each figure in the group (figure activation) in the order of your choosing. Each figure can perform two actions during their activation and possibly some other non-action abilities.

Each figure in a group is a separate entity, with their own Health, their own damage tokens, their own conditions, their own actions during their activation, and their own only-one-action-containing-attacks limit.

Edited by a1bert

So, if I read that correctly, a group of stormtroopers is potentially 3 attacks (one per unit) for the one card activation?

Edited by HistoryGuy

With the Imp. Officers ability, the two movement he gives, does the unit he orders move those two immediately or does its movement on activation go up two, from 4 to 6 for example?

Yes, each figure can attack.

Movement points received out of your activation must be spent immediate (as an interrupt) or they are lost. So, whoever the Imperial Officer Orders, must use the 2mp (skirmish) or perform a move and spend the gained movement points (campaign) immediately.

If a card ability allows another unit to attack outside of activation as an Interrupt, does it count as its one attack for its?

No, because the limit is only during your activation and for action containing one or more attacks.

Also, if the card ability does not require to spend an action, it does not count.

Executive Order? No in both cases. The figure performing the attack is performing it outside of its activation, so it does not count. The figure spending the action is not performing the attack, so it also does not count.

Murne's False Orders has been explicitly excluded too. Although she is performing the attack with the controlled figure, it is not considered to have performed an attack.

What's the exact ability you're thinking about?

Edited by a1bert

Executive orders and Firing squad specifically.

Executive Order and Firing Squad do not count towards the one-action-containing-attacks-per-activation limit of non-heroes.