Kari's skill Wraith step

By Cabae, in Runewars Rules Questions

Can the skill be used to engage a enemy unit?

You already have to be engaged with a unit to use it and end up still engaged with the same unit afterwards.

I suppose the movement could take you into contact with a second unit, but wouldn't that be kind of suicidal?

1 hour ago, stet2 said:

I suppose the movement could take you into contact with a second unit, but wouldn't that be kind of suicidal?

That would take precise placement to be sure you are in contact with the second one. Wraith Step says:

"[Skill] If you are engaged with an enemy unit, pick up and place your unit so it is touching and aligned with that enemy unit's back."

That means there is a very specific placement for Kari when using Wraith Step. As I interpret it, if she can't actually fit in a spot that is aligned with and touching the engaged unit's back edge, she can't use Wraith Step. So for her to be engaged with a new enemy as a result of Wraith Step, that enemy would have to be exactly perpendicular to her and be in just the right spot to where they are touching. The most common way I can think of that happening is in the following scenario:

  • Kari is engaged with an enemy unit (either on its front or side)
  • An allied unit is engaged with that enemy's back
  • Another enemy is engaged with your ally's side
  • The second enemy eliminates that ally
  • Kari can now Wraith Step right into that spot and should be engaged with both units.

Interestingly, it doesn't say how Kari needs to be oriented, so in the above situation, you could have Kari's side touching with the engaged unit's back, and have her front edge touching the other enemy's front edge so that she isn't flanked by anybody.

Say Kari is engaged with a 9 tray reanimate, who is in front of a 2 tray archer. She could wraith step to the reanimates back side and be 'beside' the archers. I think.

1 minute ago, Ywingscum said:

Say Kari is engaged with a 9 tray reanimate, who is in front of a 2 tray archer. She could wraith step to the reanimates back side and be 'beside' the archers. I think.

Good point. The archers would not need to be touching the Reanimates, but they would need to be perfectly aligned with two of the Reanimates' trays.

How would squareing up work in this situation, if after the wraith step your contacting multiple units? Do they square up to you?

4 minutes ago, Cabae said:

How would squareing up work in this situation, if after the wraith step your contacting multiple units? Do they square up to you?

Don't have my book on me but I believe if an engaged unit activates and is not squared up it squared up. So yes they would square up on their activation

2 minutes ago, Cabae said:

How would squareing up work in this situation, if after the wraith step your contacting multiple units? Do they square up to you?

Squaring Up 77.5: "If, after revealing its command tool, an active unit is engaged with a single enemy unit but not aligned with that enemy, the active unit attempts to square up with that enemy unit."

So if she were now touching a new unit, but not aligned with it, then that unit would square up with her the next time it revealed its command tool. That is, assuming she was the only unit that unit was touching.

While we're on the topic, here's another clarification. The timing here says "after revealing the command tool." The steps of activation (5.1) are

  1. Reveal Command Tool
  2. Perform Action
  3. Perform Bonus Action

So according to 77.5, you would square up before performing the action. That means that if you wanted to shift to disengage, you would have to square up first and then disengage. Also, if you were going to perform a Skill action that required Line of Sight, you would have to plan for your arc getting shifted after you square up, before you do your action. Not exactly relevant to the topic, but I thought it was a good time to throw this in.