Need clarification on more confusing rules

By voltagejim, in X-Wing

SO came across some more scenarios in a game me and my friend played the ohter day and was wondering how you resolve these:

Friend dropped a connor net from back of K-wing, and part of it landed on the base of my ship. Does that count as the connor net hitting me even though I still needed to move my ship next? or does it hit regardless if I have moved or not.

One of my ships got ioned and received 2 ion tokens. Does that mean I move forward 1, 2 seperate times? Or just use a 2 forward on my next turn to move to get rid of the tokens?

Any time a card says "inside firing arc" or "outside firing arc" Does that refer to the primary firing arc or the 360 degree arc that some ships have?

On most bombs it says "All ships at range 1 suffer damage" Does that mean the ship that dropped the bomb suffers damage as well? Cause that would mean a ship dropping bombs would always get damage to it, and why would you drop a bomb if that would happen?

Bombs that go off like that are dropped before u move. Don't drop it off it will hit u. But move faster than 1 speed forward if u are afraid of it hitting u. When u are ioned u don't choose a maneuver, instead u are assigned 1 straight, then remove all in tokens. Inside arc is referring to the printed 90degree arc on front of every base. Even turrets have this arc on their base. And Connor net, well, if u haven't moved yet u still move your dial, but u can't do any actions and u take a damage. Next round u are ioned, so u do 1 straight

Edited by churchwarden

It doesn't matter a huge deal...but there's a sub forum up above that answers rules questions good sir.

Happy flying!

I can't remember the trigger for conner net, so I'll refrain from making a non-confident reply, but I can confidently answer the rest.

Ion tokens cause you to skip setting a dial and do a one, white forward maneuver. After this you remove all ion tokens, so you only do this once to clear all of them ( not twice - removing one each time)

Turret equipped ships still have a firing arc. They are just allowed to shout outside of it. Same for if it is a primary turret ship.

The bomb that gets dropped detonates at the end of the Activation phase, so after all ships have moved and taken actions.

2 minutes ago, churchwarden said:

Bombs that go off like that are dropped before u move. Don't drop it off it will hit u. But move faster than 1 speed forward if u are afraid of it hitting u. When u are ioned u don't choose a maneuver, instead u are assigned 1 straight, then remove all in tokens. Inside arc is referring to the printed 90degree arc on front of every base. Even turrets have this arc on their base. And Connor net, well, if u haven't moved yet u still move your dial, but u can't do any actions and u take a damage. Next round u are ioned, so u do 1 straight

Did you use the word "u" 13 times in one paragraph just to bug me? :)

But seriously, this is right. The Connor Net drops on your ship and automatically hits you. You still do your maneuver as planned, but then you suffer all the effects of landing on it, including taking the ion token, which will force you to do a 1-straight next turn.

As for the OP's original questions:

The two ion tokens both go away at once. When you are ionized, all ion tokens are removed. The Connor Net gives you two to make sure that large ships get ionized as well (it takes two tokens to ionize a big ship.)

No ship in existence has a 360-degree firing arc. When a card or effect says "inside your arc" or "outside your arc", it almost always means the little 90-degree forward-facing arc that all ships (except a few epic/huge ships) have. The only exception is "auxiliary arcs", which include the rear arcs on the Firespray-31, ARC-170, and TIE/sf, the side arcs on the YV-666, and the other arcs on epic/huge ships.

Most ships drop bombs before moving, and the "range 1" on bombs happens when the bomb goes off after all ships have moved. A few ships drop after moving, and yes, they take the damage too.

Great questions! Hope these answers help!

I am sorry that u took offence to the manner in which I created my sentence. I didn't mean to offend u or bug u or annoy u. My sincerest apologies to u. I hope u won't be bothered by how I type in the future. Thank u for sharing your concern with me.

You were doing great but failed.

"Thank u for ur concern."

Thank u very much! I was just joking with u.

4 minutes ago, gamblertuba said:

You were doing great but failed.

"Thank u for ur concern."

Oh no!

It would be difficult to tell from how I typed before, but I typically a grammar Nazi... When I see the wrong usage of your or there it just irks me...

Lol

10 minutes ago, churchwarden said:

Oh no!

It would be difficult to tell from how I typed before, but I typically a grammar Nazi... When I see the wrong usage of your or there it just irks me...

Lol

Your right. They're is nothing worse then bad grammar. Its so annoying.

1 hour ago, voltagejim said:

SO came across some more scenarios in a game me and my friend played the ohter day and was wondering how you resolve these:

Friend dropped a connor net from back of K-wing, and part of it landed on the base of my ship. Does that count as the connor net hitting me even though I still needed to move my ship next? or does it hit regardless if I have moved or not.

One of my ships got ioned and received 2 ion tokens. Does that mean I move forward 1, 2 seperate times? Or just use a 2 forward on my next turn to move to get rid of the tokens?

Any time a card says "inside firing arc" or "outside firing arc" Does that refer to the primary firing arc or the 360 degree arc that some ships have?

On most bombs it says "All ships at range 1 suffer damage" Does that mean the ship that dropped the bomb suffers damage as well? Cause that would mean a ship dropping bombs would always get damage to it, and why would you drop a bomb if that would happen?

1. It blows when contact is made. If that is when it is dropped then that is when it blows and is part of what makes those pieces of ordnance so nasty. If you happen to drop it on multiple targets you do get to pick which it is actually hitting.

2. Ships are ionized or they are not. Small ships take one and large ships two. They perform their one white straight and then remove ALL Ion Tokens. A small ship with 5 ion tokens on it is going to behave just like a small ship with one ion token on it.

3. A ship's "firing arc" is any printed arc. There is no "360 degree arc" although there are attack that can also target outside of a ship's firing arc which we often say have 360 arcs when they do not.

4. If it says "all ships at R1" then it certainly could include the bomb dropper. Normally, the template to drop the bomb followed by the maneuver to get away places enough space between the bomber and the bomb but that isn't always the case. Friendly fire can happen but sometime the damage you'd cause the enemy far outweighs what you'd take to do it.

35 minutes ago, Velvetelvis said:

It doesn't matter a huge deal...but there's a sub forum up above that answers rules questions good sir.

My first through as well especially as it says "Rules" right in the title.

ok thanks for clarifying the bomb thing. We played as if the person deploying does not take damage cause we figured that made the most sense cause why drop a bomb when it will hurt you as well. Also do you measure the range 1 with the attack ruler or with the white forward 1 template?

Range is measured with the Range ruler.

Worth noting that if you drop a bomb from your rear nubs and then perform any (forward) maneuver you will be outside the range 1 bomb radius unless you bumped someone and couldn't move the full distance or you Barrel Rolled back for some reason.

1 hour ago, voltagejim said:

ok thanks for clarifying the bomb thing. We played as if the person deploying does not take damage cause we figured that made the most sense cause why drop a bomb when it will hurt you as well. Also do you measure the range 1 with the attack ruler or with the white forward 1 template?

I think you might be confused by the difference between the two types of bomb. There are bombs that you drop AFTER you move, as an action: those detonate when a ship or its template overlaps them. There are bombs that you drop when you reveal your dial, BEFORE you move: those detonate at the end of the activation phase, and hit everyone at range 1. As was pointed out, it's actually pretty difficult to still be in range one after your move. How did this come up in your game? Are you sure you were dropping the bomb at the correct time?

4 hours ago, Kieransi said:

No ship in existence has a 360-degree firing arc. When a card or effect says "inside your arc" or "outside your arc", it almost always means the little 90-degree forward-facing arc that all ships (except a few epic/huge ships) have. The only exception is "auxiliary arcs", which include the rear arcs on the Firespray-31, ARC-170, and TIE/sf, the side arcs on the YV-666, and the other arcs on epic/huge ships.

Not quite the only exception. The mobile arc on the shadow caster and the special arc on the ghost are also things that are arcs for the purposes of anythign which just says 'in/out of arc'.

4 hours ago, voltagejim said:

ok thanks for clarifying the bomb thing. We played as if the person deploying does not take damage cause we figured that made the most sense cause why drop a bomb when it will hurt you as well. Also do you measure the range 1 with the attack ruler or with the white forward 1 template?

Have you read the bomb rules cards correctly? Bombs dropped using your action (Conner Net, Cluster Mine, Proximity Mine) don't have a blast radius, each token will only ever affect a single ship.

I presume dropping a bomb is not an action or an attack

Correct?

12 minutes ago, chrisleeingram said:

I presume dropping a bomb is not an action or an attack

Correct?

The bomb card specifies whether it is an action to drop that bomb. Some are and some aren't.

Thank you, so if it is not stated like the Proton Bombs, it is a free action before the move?

Edited by chrisleeingram
19 minutes ago, chrisleeingram said:

Thank you, so if it is not stated like the Proton Bombs, it is a free action before the move?

Not exactly.

Some bombs, such as your Proton Bomb, are released before performing your revealed maneuver. The DO NOT use any kind of Action to do so. This means they can be released when Stressed and it also means they can NOT be used to trigger things that trigger when you perform an action like PtL or EI.

Some bombs are dropped when you reveal your maneuver :

Seismic Charges, Ion Bombs, Thermal Detonators, Proton Bombs .

They will detonate at the end of the Activation phase and effect all ships within Range 1 of the token. Dropping these bombs does not require an action, it is simply when you reveal your maneuver , so you can do it while stressed .

The other bombs require an action to drop :

Proximity Mines, Cluster Mines, Conner Net.

They detonate when a ship's base or maneuver template overlaps them, and they only effect the ship that caused them to detonate. Keep in mind that movement is not the only way to overlap. Barrel Roll, Boost, being Tractor Beamed, or just having it dropped directly on your ship will all detonate. This requires an action to drop , so you may not do it if you are stressed .

Now there are a few special abilities that change the way a ship can drop bombs. The Salvaged Astromech Genius will let a scum ship drop a "Reveal your maneuver" bomb after you move, probably catching yourself in the blast. Time Bomber Pilot Deathfire 's special ability is to perform a free action to drop a bomb when you reveal your maneuver. The Advanced Sensors system upgrade will let you perform an action before you reveal your maneuver, so you could drop a bomb with an action , or perform a Barrel Roll or Boost to slightly change your position, before using a "reveal your maneuver" bomb.

Regardless of how you drop a bomb, a ship may only drop one bomb per round .

Edited by Vulf

In short: do what the card says, and only what the card says*. Assume nothing.

*unless the FAQ says differently in which case do that.

Edited by thespaceinvader