Inspirational

By daemon95131, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Quick question about Inspirational.

I exhausted this card when a Rebel attacked one of my figures. The figures being attacked were stromtroopers and there was some confusion as to whether the bonus applied to all figures or if they only applied to a single figure targeted.

What's the correct interpretation?

Thanks

Inspirational_595_ffflogog_whatermark_cc.jpg

"During this attack."

It only applies to the attack that was declared when you exhausted it.

(You can use it both for offense and defense, that's why the long and complex wording. Well, besides the whole thing about showing traits.)

Edited by a1bert
9 hours ago, a1bert said:

"During this attack."

It only applies to the attack that was declared when you exhausted it.

(You can use it both for offense and defense, that's why the long and complex wording. Well, besides the whole thing about showing traits.)

"During this attack" and "figures" plural. I would argue this would apply to all figures that match the trait and would be important for shenanigans like Verena chaining her attacks where all the subsequent attacks still fall into the original attack bracket? Same reason blast and cleave only get applied at the end? Or am I wrong on what constitutes the attack portion?

Note that there's a precedent that "during this attack" means "for this attack".

Edit: the plural "figures" in necessary, because the ability cannot specify that it only applies to the target figure due to alternatively applying to the attacker depending on whose attack Inspirational was exhausted. Lack of space in the card seems to be an issue here too.

Edited by a1bert

The precedent here: