A couple of weird situations in game tonight

By Elliphino, in Runewars Rules Questions

Well, it was bound to happen: the game that was full of unanswerable questions. Well, we guessed at some answers, but maybe the wise sages of the inter-forums can tell us what the rules really say? It would be much appreciated.

1. Does a unit in cover get +1 Defense against Kari's special ability? It's not technically a ranged attack.

2. How are wounds allocated to a Support Carrion Lancer after the rest of the unit is destroyed? The game situation is that I had a single reanimate left and a fresh Support Lancer when a Rune Golem did 9 damage to the unit. Would the 8 overkill wounds have been allocated to the lancer? We lucked out, sort of, not having to find the real answer because while I was looking for the answer he pulled the Morale card that said "remove one upgrade card from the unit."

3. Can one purchase multiple morale cards? For example, if spending 5 panic, can you cause a 3 cost and 2 cost effect to happen? We ruled that you could.

Thanks in advance for your insight and wisdom!

1. Kari deals damage, not wounds, so defense should still matter.

2. Figure upgrades can be the last figure of a unit, so if you lost the Reanimate, the remaining damage would be applied to the figure upgrade.

3. I don't have the rules on me, but I don't think you can activate 2 morale cards in a single test. I recommend looking up "morale test" in the rules reference.

1. It's not a ranged attack so Cover doesn't provide the extra Defense.

2. When assigning damage to a unit, the player that doesn't control the unit decides which model to assign the damage to. Once they start assigning damage to a model they need to continue assigning damage until a wound has been caused. They can continue assigning damage or they may select a different model to start assigning damage until there is no more damage left to assign.

The restrictions on the model that they choose to damage is that it must be on the rearmost rank of trays and cannot be on tray that would cause the unit to break into two if it were removed.

In your example it sounds as if you had two trays remaining. One tray had a single reanimiate and the other had a Support Lancer. The attacker had 9 damage to assign. He could have started assigning damage to the 3 defense, 3 wound Lancer before removing the last Reanimate which would be enought to remove the Lancer and leave you with a tray with a single Reanimate. (RRG, section 22, Damage)

3. Nope. You spend any panic tokens and/or morale results to set the severity of the test. You theb draw cards equal to the severity of the test. You can then choose one of the drawn cards to resolve as long as it has a cost equal to or less then the severity of the test. (RRG, section 53, Morale Test)

Edited by WWHSD
4 hours ago, Budgernaut said:

1. Kari deals damage, not wounds, so defense should still matter.

RR81.9 Cover X: While a unit occupying this terrain is defending against a ranged attack , it increases its defense by X

Ranged attack and ranged are confusingly different.

So if Kari shoots at them it's a ranged attack, but if she uses her special hability it's a ranged effect but not a ranged attack and you cannot use cover.

3 hours ago, druchii7 said:

RR81.9 Cover X: While a unit occupying this terrain is defending against a ranged attack , it increases its defense by X

Ranged attack and ranged are confusingly different.

So if Kari shoots at them it's a ranged attack, but if she uses her special hability it's a ranged effect but not a ranged attack and you cannot use cover.

I just misread the question. I didn't realize the question was about cover.

Yes, despite the careful writing of the rules there are some key words that are too similar

9 hours ago, WWHSD said:

A lot of well explained stuff

Thanks for getting into the details there. I was able to find the sections you referenced. Very helpful!

Thanks everyone for weighing in! For a game that feels so much more streamlined from those I'm used to, there are a lot of devilish details that are hard to locate.

2 minutes ago, Elliphino said:

Thanks for getting into the details there. I was able to find the sections you referenced. Very helpful!

Thanks everyone for weighing in! For a game that feels so much more streamlined from those I'm used to, there are a lot of devilish details that are hard to locate.

Yeah, using the Rules Reference Guide when you first start playing is kind of like using a dictionary to figure out how to spell a word correctly.

Hey, while I'm at it. I just thought of another question about spending surges from Ardus.

Let's say he rolls 3 surges and just happens to be in range 1-3 of both a Carrion Lancer and a unit of Archers. Could he spend the first two surges to put blight on the unit and the third surge to cause a mortal strike? I would think so just because that would be consistent with other FFG games I've played like Descent, yet I can't find the timing of spending individual surges in the rules.

You absolutely can spend your surges in any order.

1 minute ago, Ywingscum said:

You absolutely can spend your surges in any order.

That's what I thought... just in case I run into rules lawyers though, do you happen to have a rule that makes that explicit?

Oh I'll leave that to the awesome dudes on here. I'm at work and too lazy to call up the PDF. But I know someone will point out the rule. There was actually a thread on this very subject.

20 minutes ago, Elliphino said:

Hey, while I'm at it. I just thought of another question about spending surges from Ardus.

Let's say he rolls 3 surges and just happens to be in range 1-3 of both a Carrion Lancer and a unit of Archers. Could he spend the first two surges to put blight on the unit and the third surge to cause a mortal strike? I would think so just because that would be consistent with other FFG games I've played like Descent, yet I can't find the timing of spending individual surges in the rules.

It's the same here as it is in the other FFG games you are familiar with.

If you have multiple effects with the same timing then you choose the order in which they are resolved.

RRG, pg. 20:
'83.9 If two or more of a player’s effects have the same timing, that player can resolve those effects in any order'

When both players have effects with the same timing, whoever is the first player this round resolves all of their effects first.

RRG, pg. 20:
'83.10 If both players have effects with the same timing, the first player resolves all of his effects with that timing first'