Revealed in Wrath and Brown Water Rats

By Mr_Underhill, in Rules questions & answers

What do you guys think would happen if you play Revealed in Wrath on the Brown Water Rats from Journey Along the Anduin Nightmare?

Revealed in Wrath: Action: Choose a non-unique enemy. Until the end of the phase, treat the chosen enemy's printed text box as if it were blank (except for Traits ).

The Brown Water Rats have a null value (indicated by the hyphen) for their hit points. They have the text "Brown Water Rats cannot be damaged".

http://hallofbeorn.com/LotR/Details/Brown-Water-Rats-JAtAN

It's clear that the rats can be damaged after blanking their text with Revealed in Wrath. But since they have a null value for their hit points, should they be discarded immediately after blanking their text box?

I think they will probably continue to be alive and unkillable. That dash looks to me like an "undefined" value rather than a zero. When you damage an enemy you check if the amount of damage is greater than or equal to its number of hitpoints. I don't recall seeing rules for undefined comparisons in lotr, but they have them in CoC and comparison checks vs them always fail - that is you can never be more than an undefined value (or less or equal). Seen the death check can't succeed I would have the blanked Rats happily sit there with damage on them.

I guess that makes sense, thanks. As if they weren't annoying enough already!

Seems like something to ask Caleb.

Nah, as RP said, there is no text in the Rats' text box that relates to their HP. Blanking the box would have no effect. They could take damage, but so what.. their HP is "-" and not "X." They would stay in play.