On the lam ruling problem & Scavenged Weaponary

By futil, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

ON THE LAM
Consider the situation below :

A Wampa with Feeding Frenzy attack Greedo and a fter rolling dice, Greedo play on the lam to get away from the Wampa

=> As the figure will exit an adjacent space :

Wampa play parting blow

(Here come the problem as this is a real neested attack (attack between resolution of another attack)

Case 1 => Wampa Stun Greedo and he can't exit the Space

What's happen to the first roll (the initial attack)?
On my mind It's still valid (as you finally can't move thanks to the Stun) and you just have to resolve the Card / Surge of the first roll.

Case 2 => Wampa don't stun Greedo and he goes away, could I still recover 2 with the surge as the attack was perform on an adjacent figure ?

The attack consider as missed but could I cleave on another adjacent figure ?

SCAVENGED WEAPONRY
After the current host is defeated, if this group as already use the capacity, can you reuse after you redeploy it to another unit during the same round ? (Does the re-attachement "unexhaust" the card ?)

Parting Blow happens before moving (it is explicitly written). If Parting Blow stuns the figure, moving becomes invalid, and it is cancelled (but the cost of movement point is paid if you go by RAW). This does not make the original attack invalid, so it can then continue.

Case 2 - the attack misses but is fully resolved, so surge abilities that do not require that the target suffered damage, and any after-the-attack-resolves abilities can be used. Blast, Cleave, and condition keywords require that the target suffered damage, so they cannot be used. (Technically the attack misses only if there is no longer line of sight, but I would assume it applies to target no longer being valid for melee attack.)

I would say you are not putting Scavenged Weaponry to play, you are moving it to another deployment card. It would remain exhausted.

Edited by a1bert

The Feeding Frenzy case is realy tricky : While attacking an adjacent figure, you can Surge.png : Recover 2 Damage.png
So not sure tha you have to be adjacent when using surge or not.

1 hour ago, futil said:

While attacking an adjacent figure, you can gain Surge.png : Recover 2 Damage.png

I see that "while attacking" is referring to gaining the surge ability. Gaining abilities (i.e. not adding or removing symbols or accuracy) for the attack can happen by exhausting cards or playing command cards. There are even some that allow you to choose between options. If their timing is "while attacking" or "while defending" there is no specific timing for them except an ability must be gained before it can be used. For example surge abilities must be gained on or before the spend surges step.

Feeding Frenzy can be resolved as soon as an attack is declared. It will provide you a surge ability for that attack. During the spend surges step you can spend a surge to resolve the gained ability.

"When declaring an attack targeting an adjacent figure, you gain Surge.png : Recover 2 Damage.png ." would perhaps be a better wording, but a little longer.

Edited by a1bert
On 5/15/2017 at 4:32 AM, a1bert said:

I would say you are not putting Scavenged Weaponry to play, you are moving it to another deployment card. It would remain exhausted.

When does the exhausted attachment ready? My assumption was end/beginning of round effect, but then I noticed the campaign, rule:

- A hero readies all of his Item and Class cards at the start of his activation.

That makes sense in a campaign, but i can't find anything specific to when a skirmish attachment readies. If it also readies at the start of the activation, then I think the second figure could use scavenged weaponry.

Although not directly listed in the rules, all exhausted cards, except the class and item cards of heroes in the campaign ready during the ready step of the status phase.

I.e. Deployment cards, including companions cards, attachments - whether class cards or skirmish upgrades, and now also command cards.