Units & Champions - Movement questions (Heroes)

By --JP, in Battlelore

1) Say a Champion is adjacent to an enemy unit. A friendly unit is moved into the Champion's hex. Can this unit still battle, since it was ordered? Does the Champion (now a Leader) add his benefits to this attack?

2) Say a unit is adjacent to an enemy unit. A friendly Champion moves into the unit's hex. Can this combed unit/Leader attack the adjacent enemy unit?

3) Does either of the above answers change if the Champion and the unit are both ordered?


4) Must a friendly unit stop when entering a Champion's hex? paragraph at the bottom of the first colummn of page 5 seems to bear this out, but then goes on to discuss 'retreat movement'.

--JP

JJP said:

1) Say a Champion is adjacent to an enemy unit. A friendly unit is moved into the Champion's hex. Can this unit still battle, since it was ordered? Does the Champion (now a Leader) add his benefits to this attack?

2) Say a unit is adjacent to an enemy unit. A friendly Champion moves into the unit's hex. Can this combed unit/Leader attack the adjacent enemy unit?

3) Does either of the above answers change if the Champion and the unit are both ordered?


4) Must a friendly unit stop when entering a Champion's hex? paragraph at the bottom of the first colummn of page 5 seems to bear this out, but then goes on to discuss 'retreat movement'.

JP

Per the rules:

Changing a Hero’s role during a turn does not
allow the Hero to bypass the one order per unit
per turn limit. Ordering the Hero does not cause
the troop he joins or leaves to be ordered.

1) No. The unit would have to stop and can no longer battle this turn.

2) Again, no.

3) I believe in this case, it would work. Both units have been ordered and can complete the turn.

4) Yes, it must stop no matter what. The "retreat" part just means that the Leader now "absorbs" the balance of mandatory retreat hexes without causing the unit casualties. Only a champion can move through a friendly unit without joining it.