Luke+Norra

By Undeadguy, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Just now, rasproteus said:

Isn't Luke resolving the standard crit effect? That's what is turning that card face-up, after all?

I do see the distinction.

The standard crit effect is dealing the card faceup, not resolving the effect of the card . If you read the wording on the crit cards, they all refer to "you" , meaning they must be resolved by the ship to which they're dealt, not by the source of the damage.

" Your hull zone with the most remaining shields loses all of its shields..."

16 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

The standard crit effect is dealing the card faceup, not resolving the effect of the card . If you read the wording on the crit cards, they all refer to "you" , meaning they must be resolved by the ship to which they're dealt, not by the source of the damage.

" Your hull zone with the most remaining shields loses all of its shields..."

Norra's crit effect does not say the squadron does an additional point of damage to the ship, only that the defending hull zone loses a shield.

1 minute ago, rasproteus said:

Norra's crit effect does not say the squadron does an additional point of damage to the ship, only that the defending hull zone loses a shield.

It doesn't have to, the RRG does that:

RRG pg 2 ATTACK

" 5. Resolve Damage: The attacker can resolve one of its critical effects."

... which Norra confers on Luke:

Norra.png

It's pretty clear that Luke only stop the defender from using shields to soak damage.

Thus if you want to spend a crit to remove a shield in the norra combo, there are in fact shields there to be removed, as it states in the FAQ.

Hence my Resolved by the FAQ post.

40 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

It doesn't have to, the RRG does that...

We are going in circles. You're drawing a demarcation line between the crit effect of flipping the card and it's effect. I'm essentially arguing that it is still happening during Luke's attack, and if the faq affects one it affects the other.

I find your arguments reasonable and well-considered, but I think we will just have to agree to disagree.

1 minute ago, rasproteus said:

We are going in circles. You're drawing a demarcation line between the crit effect of flipping the card and it's effect. I'm essentially arguing that it is still happening during Luke's attack, and if the faq affects one it affects the other.

I find your arguments reasonable and well-considered, but I think we will just have to agree to disagree.

Oh, I agree (HAH!). I really think it's ambiguous enough that it could go either way, I'm just articulating the opposing argument. Sorry if I came off as aggressive--I think my writing style tends to sound that way... :/

1 hour ago, Ardaedhel said:

Oh, I agree (HAH!). I really think it's ambiguous enough that it could go either way, I'm just articulating the opposing argument. Sorry if I came off as aggressive--I think my writing style tends to sound that way... :/

As a dedicated Devil's Advocate in my spare time, I assure you there's nothing to worry about.

Couldn't one draw a line to the temporarily changed speed? As the speed value is on the dial, temporal things are dealt separately. Same goes for "treaed as shields"