CC Base Defence: Armed Station axrivation question

By NairoD, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Hi

Last time, after tournamen I saw my mates starting CC game. They play CC scenario Base defence: Armed station. They said that card text (in our national language) said that station may be activated instead of ship and that ship count as activated. Does it really works like that? If yes then this is some kind of bug in rules for me.

You activate the station instead of a ship. It's just an outright activation delay.

Both players have 3 ships:

P1 activates a ship
P2 activates a ship
P1 activates a ship
P2 activates the station
P1 activates a ship
P2 activates a ship
P2 activates a ship

So you activate a ship twice? Because it says "that ship count as activated"?

6 minutes ago, Libero03 said:

So you activate a ship twice? Because it says "that ship count as activated"?

No.

When you are going to activate a ship, you could say "okay, I am not going to activate a ship; I will "activate" the statiom instead" but, you can only do this once per round and you are not technically activating the station. Just shooting with it. You are not activating any ship.

I see your wording is a bit confusing but I think what someone could clarify with it is that when you shoot with the station it counts as a your activation turn so, after shooting with the station the turn go back to the other player.

You never activate a ship twice. You just play with an extra "ship", the station. Shooting the station counts as a ship activation for purpose of passing the turn to the opponent preventing you from shoot the station and then activating a ship. You could do that only if you out-activate your opponent and he has no remaining activations.

12 minutes ago, Libero03 said:

So you activate a ship twice? Because it says "that ship count as activated"?

It says:

Once per round, instead of activating a ship, the second player can perform 1 attack with the armed station.

So you skip a ship activation to shoot with the station instead, effectively granting you an extra activation. No ship is activating twice.

only down side is, the station can't be your last activation!

36 minutes ago, Rocco79 said:

only down side is, the station can't be your last activation!

I would say it can be. The FAQ clarify, about Jendon, that a real chance is not necessary to trigger his ability. The same occurs with RLB. You don't need squadrons at activation range to trigger it.

Of course you can argue against it, and before any clarification about the armed station specifically you could hold your position but I think you don't need a real ship activation to choose shoot with the station instead.

But I see what you say and maybe it would need its own clarification for a better comprehension.

54 minutes ago, Rocco79 said:

only down side is, the station can't be your last activation!

And the rationale behind this is?

14 minutes ago, Green Knight said:

And the rationale behind this is?

I think he points to this:

Players continue taking turns in this manner until all ships have been activated.

So whenever there were no ships left to activate, the ship phase end and players move into the squadron phase.

But I think he missed this:

If a player has no unactivated ships remaining, he must pass his turn for the rest of the phase .

The mechanism works passing the turn no checking if there is an unactivated ship remaining. So whenever the second player take his turn. He would say that he has no unactivated ship but he could activate one if he had as he is in his turn. And as long he could activate a ship he can shoot with the station instead. Then, again in his turn, he couldn't activate ships or shooting with he station so he pass his turn. Whenever both players passed they move into squadron phase.

Not sure if I explain myself correctly. I think that is a fair question. But the FAQ established a precedence I think.

7 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

I think he points to this:

Players continue taking turns in this manner until all ships have been activated.

So whenever there were no ships left to activate, the ship phase end and players move into the squadron phase.

But I think he missed this:

If a player has no unactivated ships remaining, he must pass his turn for the rest of the phase .

The mechanism works passing the turn no checking if there is an unactivated ship remaining. So whenever the second player take his turn. He would say that he has no unactivated ship but he could activate one if he had as he is in his turn. And as long he could activate a ship he can shoot with the station instead. Then, again in his turn, he couldn't activate ships or shooting with he station so he pass his turn. Whenever both players passed they move into squadron phase.

Not sure if I explain myself correctly. I think that is a fair question. But the FAQ established a precedence I think.

That was what I was fishing for.

nice catch!

ovinomanc3r put my very short thought into a full lenght answer :)

Is the mechanism you described actually being played that way, or it this your theoretical opinion?

1 hour ago, Rocco79 said:

Is the mechanism you described actually being played that way, or it this your theoretical opinion?

Well, the armed station is played only in the CC. I didn't play it yet (ion cannon is more popular) but I would play it as I said. The FAQ about Jendon for me is enough to intend the same about the armed station.

What if the Armed Station is out of range for shooting? Can it still activate?

yes... because you activate, declare shooting, measure range and then gather the available battery die.... which at over long range = 0 :P

1 hour ago, Mikael Hasselstein said:

What if the Armed Station is out of range for shooting? Can it still activate?

Essentially, you declare an attack by declaring a target, then measuring range.

You may "know" the range is out. Based on premeasure or eyeball, but the attack doesn't know its out until its measured for the attack.

3 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

Essentially, you declare an attack by declaring a target, then measuring range.

You may "know" the range is out. Based on premeasure or eyeball, but the attack doesn't know its out until its measured for the attack.

Hm, devious

Having played this objective six times as the defender, with standard 400 pt fleets, I found the real value to be the extra activation.

The guns and hull were nice bonuses, but the activation makes it on par with the other two.

11 minutes ago, Green Knight said:

Having played this objective six times as the defender, with standard 400 pt fleets, I found the real value to be the extra activation.

The guns and hull were nice bonuses, but the activation makes it on par with the other two.

Agreed. There are solid roles for all three of those objectives, I think.

12 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

Agreed. There are solid roles for all three of those objectives, I think.

Apparently so.

I grossly underestimated this one, but after playing it I've realized it has some unique strengths.